1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows7 compatable film/slide scanner

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by confederatemule, Aug 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. confederatemule

    confederatemule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    What brand film/scanner would y'all recommend to use with windows7? I'd like to keep the price below $100.00.
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    ConfederateMule:

    A great all around scanner which will handle your needs is a CanoScan 5600F.
    The unit is compatable with Win7 32 and 64 bit per Canon's website.
    The unit can be had for under $100.00 at many different outlets.
    I have used this product 5600 series and the 9000 series for several years now and find them very good units!
     
  3. confederatemule

    confederatemule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Davey. I did not even know of that one.
     
  4. confederatemule

    confederatemule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Let me be more detailed in my search question.

    "What brand film/scanner would y'all recommend to use with windows7? I'd like to keep the price below $100.00."
    I am looking for something to convert the early film format. Such as; 120, 135, 828, 126, 110, ASP, as well as 135mm. I also want/need to be able to convert slides. (I do not want to trim the negative to be able to convert it.)
    If need be, I will spend over $100.00.

    Any and all suggestions will be helpful and appreciated.
     
  5. wowzer

    wowzer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    I'm not very familiar with older film in general.
    Do these film formats you refer to have different size negatives?
     
  6. confederatemule

    confederatemule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    WOWZER, Yes, that is what it means.

    My wife took some older negatives, that came from her mother's estate, to the local photography shop, to be developed/converted. The shop attendant said that the negatives would have to be trimmed so they would fit the equipment they had for 35mm. They had nothing to fit the negatives she had. I figure they are 126 Kodak negatives. So, apparently negatives come in different sizes.
    Me, personally, I don't know. That is why I want/need a machine that will handle them all or at least, most.
     
  7. wowzer

    wowzer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
  8. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    You are correct Kodak 126 instamatic film is unique in size as is 110. Finding a scanner to support that film may be near impossible. From what I have read some people are making thier own film masks using black construction paper and making sure the calibration notch line up with the standard supplied 35mm holder.
    Here is an article that references other peoples experiences and solutions.
     
  9. confederatemule

    confederatemule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks for the reply's. I'll keep searching. There may not be a machine that will do it. I have negatives from way back in time, and I don't really know what kind they are. I am sure they are not from professional cameras, just the camera's that poor folks might have. But, I sure would like to convert them to digital.
     
  10. confederatemule

    confederatemule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    I called Canon. According to the person I talked to, they don't have equipment that can handle anything other than 35mm, negatives or slides.
    I called Epson. They have 4 offerings; V500, V600, V700, V750. I am looking hard at the V600. Although there are non locally. There are 2 places that have the V500. I think I'll buy the V600, even if I have to order it off the 'net.
    Are there any opinions, here, on the Epson V600?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065514