1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows98 hanging

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by SyBorg, Jan 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SyBorg

    SyBorg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    My computer constantly just freezes up on me at any time I might be using it regardless if I have only one program open at a time or more than that. If I have aprogram(s) open or just a screen saver running and I walk away, I come back and its frozen. I don't have many TSR's running in the background. Certainly no more than most and my startup file is set to open a minimum of programs. Most of which are standard. My system resources are adequate as is the amount of memory I have. 512DDRam with a 1.2 gig amd duron processor. Plenty of space on the hard drives. I clean the registry constantly with regeclean and reg repair type products. Every tech I talk to only wants to reformat and wipe out everything I have or can't figure out what is wrong. There has got to be a reason for this problem and a way to fix it. I can't upgrade the system to ME or XP as most of my programs won't run on those platforms.

    What can I do?:confused:
    Gary
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi SyBorg


    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.5 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


    steam
     
  3. SyBorg

    SyBorg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Thank you for responding to my windows98 hanging problem. Here is my startup list. Please advise...

    StartupList report, 10/01/03, 7:49:48 AM
    StartupList version: 1.50
    Started from : D:\DOWNLOADS UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ANTI-VIRUS\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\LOGITECH\MOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\ICONOID\ICONOID.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\SOUND PILOT\SNDPILOT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\PALM\ALARMAPP.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\BIGFIX\BIGFIX.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\PALM\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\INCREDIMAIL\BIN\INCMAIL.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT MONEY\SYSTEM\REMINDER.EXE
    D:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\EXCEL.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    D:\DOWNLOADS UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    BigFix.lnk = D:\Program Files\BigFix\BigFix.exe
    Shortcut to Murphy.exe.lnk = D:\Program Files\Murphy97\Murphy.exe
    HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Palm\HOTSYNC.EXE

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Alarm Manager.LNK = C:\Program Files\Palm\AlarmApp.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    AVG_CC = C:\PROGRAM FILES\ANTI-VIRUS\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
    EM_EXEC = C:\LOGITECH\MOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    Iconoid = "D:\PROGRAM FILES\ICONOID\ICONOID.EXE"
    TClockEx = D:\PROGRAM FILES\TCLOCKEX\TCLOCKEX.EXE
    Sound Pilot = "D:\PROGRAM FILES\SOUND PILOT\SNDPILOT.EXE"

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}

    [>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

    [PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}

    [{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

    --------------------------------------------------

    Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

    load=
    run=

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 9/1/2003, 9:9:26)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    @C:\PROGRA~1\ANTI-V~1\AVG6\bootup.exe
    mode con codepage prepare=((850) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\ega.cpi)
    mode con codepage select=850
    @IF ERRORLEVEL 1 PAUSE

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\CONFIG.SYS listing:

    device=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\display.sys con=(ega,,1)
    Country=004,850,C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\country.sys

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

    c:\logitech\mouse\mouse.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: not hidden
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: not hidden
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: not hidden

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - D:\PROGRA~1\FRESHD~2\FDCATCH.DLL - {206E52E0-D52E-11D4-AD54-0000E86C26F6}
    MediaLoads Enhanced - C:\PROGRAM FILES\MEDIALOADS ENHANCED\ME1.DLL - {85A702BA-EA8F-4B83-AA07-07A5186ACD7E}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_50.dll - {4A2AACF3-ADF6-11D5-98A9-00E018981B9E}
    (no name) - D:\Program Files\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll - {724d43a9-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37593.8028819444

    [HouseCall Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\XSCAN53.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2002121801/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Winsock LSP files:

    NameSpace #2: C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_50.dll
    Protocol #1: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL
    Protocol #2: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL
    Protocol #9: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL
    Protocol #10: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 7,267 bytes
    Report generated in 0.566 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  4. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi SyBorg

    The first thing you need to get rid of is newdotnet - if you do not do this correct you may loose your internet connection - do this :-

    PROCEDURE 1 (Add/Remove Programs):

    1. Click on Start.
    2. Click on Settings.
    3. Click on Control Panel.
    4. From the Control Panel, double-click on Add/Remove Programs.
    5. Click on the Install/Uninstall tab in the Add/Remove Programs Properties window.
    6. Locate either New.net Application or New.net Domains and select it.
    7. Click on the Add/Remove button.
    8. After removal of our software, you may be prompted to reboot. Please reboot after removing our software.
    9. If this does not fully remove our software, please proceed to PROCEDURE 2.

    if you need more go here :-

    http://www.newdotnet.com/#remove

    ---------------------
    Then

    Please Download and install SpyBot,

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/spybot14.exe

    click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

    Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
    These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

    Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check for problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds 'Fix selected problems'

    you may have to run spybot more than once to clear everything

    steam
     
  5. SyBorg

    SyBorg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Thank you for your suggestion. I will give it a try and let you know if it helped. Why did you recommend this course of action? What is the process here that may be affecting my computer?
    Please advise...
     
  6. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi SyBorg

    A lot of spyware\adware\foistware\malware has been proved to be the cause of computers hanging as well as other problems

    newdotnet is one of the worst and spybot will remove a lot of others you did not know you had

    steam
     
  7. SyBorg

    SyBorg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Hi Steam,

    Thanks for all your input. I did everything exactly as you said I should. While in the last stages of everything the computer locked up again. Could it possibly be because I needed to reboot a final time or could it be because of an overheating problem on the processor. There is a fan on top of the processor now. What do you think? Please advise...

    PS: Spybot removed alot and fixed many problems on the computer. I hope that this is all I have to do.
     
  8. SyBorg

    SyBorg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    How do I edit my profile?
     
  9. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi SyBorg

    By removing newdotnet and then running spybot you have removed a lot of things which may have been contrbuting to your lockup problem - as for the cpu overheating - if someone says it always locks up 15 or 20 minutes after booting then this could point to overheating - but if the lockups are totaly random then this is unlikely

    I see you are running avg anti-virus but i do not see a firewall - do you have one ?

    you have a lot of programs running at startup which I am sure are not necessary - see this link to see which are necessary and untick the rest in msconfig - this will reduce the load on your cpu at startup

    http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_pages/startup_full.htm

    Although I see no evidence of a virus or trojan - these on-line scans will double check for you :-

    trojan scan
    http://www.anti-trojan.net/at.asp?l=en&t=onlinecheck

    virus scan
    http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/

    or

    http://housecall.trendmicro.com

    To edit your profile - go to the top of the page and click "user panel" then click "edit profile"
     
  10. SyBorg

    SyBorg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Computer just freezes up on me after a while.

    Please advise solution...!!!
     
  11. jm100dm

    jm100dm

    Joined:
    May 26, 1999
    Messages:
    994
    Have you followed Steam's suggestions? You are on the right track but need to continue the course. There are free on-line firewalls. Check out the link below. If you don't protect yourself from intruders they can actually take over your computer. Not trying to scare you but there are people out there that thrive on destroying others property.

    The other concern is that if you have several programs running at once it is hard to narrow the problem down. Anything that is unchecked in msconfig can later be checked. If after un-checking and rebooting you have no further problems then you can safely guess that one of the unchecked programs is causing your problem. Then you gradually recheck one or two programs at a time till one creates your problem again.

    The links suggested may speed up the process by educating you as to what is really needed or optional. Keep us posted as to your progress so that we may help you.

    http://forums.techguy.org/t110854/s40a1149509b1012e058147b9c8f4633d.html

    jm100dm
     
  12. erdum

    erdum

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    hi syborg

    i had this sort of problem a couple months ago with my Athlon motherboard
    system, and found the solution by accident.

    I was going thru my BIOS set up screens for some unrelated problem and discovered
    the CPU fan sensor had somehow gotten turned off. I turned it on 2 years ago when
    I bought the motherboard, i have no idea how it ever got turned off! Anyway, after
    turning it on, a couple days later, an alarm sounded saying the CPU fan was not
    working. Took the cover off, turned on the computer and everything worked fine.
    I left the cover off so I could observe the operation if the alarm sounded again.
    A few hours later it stopped and the alarm came on again. After days of
    observation, I found it was stopping very eratically for no apparent reason.
    It would restart if I pushed the fan blade but would later stop again. I finally got
    a new fan and installed it. So far, no more weird hangups.

    erdum
     
  13. SyBorg

    SyBorg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Thank you both for your quick responses.

    jm100dm=> I have done all that Steamer suggested and more. I understand about taking out some programs from MSCONFIG I have done that as well. But I don't think that is it. It is too sporadic.

    erdum=> I am more inclined to think that it is a heat problem as well. I will check my bios for this fan setting alarm.

    Keep you posted. Thanks again

    SyBorg
     
  14. SyBorg

    SyBorg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    I checked the BIOS setting to see if fan warning was enabled and it was. So this isn't the problem unless my processsor is overheating. What is the temperature it should be at and if it is too high, is this causing overheating and could that be why my system locks up? I am not sure that this is the real reason because after I reboot the computer it works again until the next lock up. What gives? Do any of you know?

    SyBorg
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    How many ram chips do you have? If more than one, I would suggest testing each one individually.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112467

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice