1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows98 USB duron800 problem

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by fmitch, Dec 5, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fmitch

    fmitch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    11
    I recently upgraded my system from an AMD K6 400 processor to a AMD duron 800 processor.

    Before the upgrade, my palm pilot worked fine conected via USB.

    Now, it doesn't.

    My driver is a VIA VT83C572/VT82C58C PCI to USB

    I have uninstalled/reinstalled the handspring software to no avail.

    Is there a conflict I am missing?

    Please help.
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  3. fmitch

    fmitch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    11
    My system is running Win98, not win98se.

    also...

    If I try a hotlink from my visor my system locks up with the message:

    Fatal exception 0E has occurred at 0028:FF0263D6 in VXD usbhub(05) + 00000A26

    Thanks
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Do you know what chipset your motherboard uses? There is something on this page about a "filter" patch for mvp3/mvp4 chipsets.

    http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=2
     
  5. fmitch

    fmitch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    11
    How can I find out the type of chipset I have?

    I did not do the upgrade.

    Thanks.
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Do you know your motherboard model identification?
     
  7. fmitch

    fmitch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    11
    I had all the info on my old motherboard... manuals etc

    but when I had it upgraded, the shop gave me no documentation.

    Does the chipset/motherboard/info come up on startup or is it listed in the bios. If so I will reboot and check.

    Thanks
     
  8. HKEd

    HKEd

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    Messages:
    221
    Probably easiest to download Belarc Advisor to get the details:

    www.belarc.com

    It doesn't identify all mobos though...
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    After you install Belarc, click the "your profile" option and look for what it says under Board Identification. Copy the numbers there carefully, they may help find it.
     
  10. fmitch

    fmitch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    11
    8363-686
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Well that's a board id all right. But for some reason I can't pin it to a specific vendor in order to get the needed details. I don't want to guess, but I don't think it one of those covered by the patch.

    Maybe someone else will have a lightining bolt here.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60860

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice