Wine could not locate exe files

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kungfu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
66
i have install wine on my fedoraCore 5 when i run the wine configuartion to locate exe files it shows me the C drive and the program files but under it i could not see any of the exe files except a common library folder under there is nothing so what could be possibly wrong with my wine installation or i do need extra package to run Adobe softwares, pliz help
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
609
Wine creates a directory in /home/user/.wine/ when you run an exe for the first time. As it has the . it's hidden. By the sound of things you know where it is, good.

If you want to install a program change to the directory it's stored. You do NOT need your exe setup files inside the wine directory to install them.

Change to the directory were your exe is in the terminal (ex: cd /home/user/dir) and run
Code:
wine filename.exe
If it's a setup program and it works with with wine you will get the usual Windows installation directory prompt. C:\Program Files\MyApp will be in /home/user/.wine/drive_c/program files/myapp.

To load the installed application run something like this for example:
Code:
wine "/home/gibbs/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Macromedia/Dreamweaver 8/Dreamweaver.exe"
Alternatively you can use cd in the shell terminal and just wine the exe directly. Remember that spaces aren't friendly to linux and to use speech marks "" when changing to a directory such as "Program Files".

I don't really understand your question but that might help...

Edit: CrossOver Office would be a better application for things like Adobe products in my opinion.
 

kungfu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
66
pliz see this under my Application menu on the option system tools there is an option for wine software uninstaller and wine configuartion, under this option it says load your application but when i browse for exe files i could not find any exe i could only see common files folder
now tell me what went wrong with my wine installation?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
kungfu said:
pliz see this under my Application menu on the option system tools there is an option for wine software uninstaller and wine configuartion, under this option it says load your application but when i browse for exe files i could not find any exe i could only see common files folder
now tell me what went wrong with my wine installation?
You did run the adobe installer also?
 

kungfu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
66
in fedora 4 i could easyly install adobe software but in Fedora 5 i could not i check the .rpm wine also its correct but wh y i cant i dont know why?
ok to your question no i didn't touch the adobe installer
 

kungfu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
66
could some pliz explain me how to i install or if there is other way to run Adobe IndesignCS2 in details
i have just install photoshop 7 thru wine configuration window emulator but when i try IndesignCS2 there is only an adobe installer now i am confused since i try to run the adobe installer with wine window emulator but in vain so pliz can some give me some tips to either install indesignCS2 or run indesignCS2
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top