1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wingate 4.4.2 doesn't work in Windows 2000 Advance Server

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Basanta, Oct 1, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Basanta

    Basanta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,
    I'm facing problem getting Wingate 4.4.2 work on Windows 2000 Advance Server.
    After installing the Wingate Server, with it's default settings, it simply doesn't work. When I try to access a website (from Wingate PC), I could see under <Activity> tab of gatekeeper my Server name and an unknown guest trying to do DNS lookup. It simply doesn't seems to go further than that. Even if a client try to access a website, <Activity> window displays name of client computer and URL it is trying to do DNS lookup, but no more progress. I am not using NAT on Wingate, ENS is installed. Do I need to configure anything else to make WinGate Server work under Windows 2000 Advance Server?

    By-the-way my Server congiguration is as follows:
    (1) Windows 2000 Advance Server ver. 5.0.2195 build 2195
    (2) 256 MB SDRAM
    (3) 1.6 GHz Intel Pentium 4 on Intel 845 Motherboard
    (4) No DNS server, No DHCP server, No NAT configuration.
    (5) Dialup connection to Internet.
    (6) Windows 2000 Advance Server is hosting a Domain.
    (7) All clients are Windows 2000 Professional with Service Pack 2.0
    (8) Clients do not use domain, there is only a peer-to-peer network established.
    (9) Clients are configured to obtain IP automatically. Earlier I used Windows ICS to share dialup Internet connection. Network is working fine, I can ping server from all clients.

    Your kind help will highly be appreciated.

    regards,
    Basanta Prakash Tandukar
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Is Wingate just a proxy server or is it acting as a firewall as well? I would suspect that the server itself needs to have a DNS server listed for name resolution. Can the clients get to a web site with just it's IP address?
     
  3. Basanta

    Basanta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7

    Hi,
    Thanks for a prompt response. But, does Win2K Server need DNS to be installed and running for Wingate to work? I'm enabling DNS and DHCP services of Wingate itself. DHCP of Wingate can successfully assign IP addresses to Win2K pro clients. There is no error report of any kind in Wingatekeeper (except that of RealPlayer service). Under policy tab services and adapters are assigned the group [EVERYONE]. And using Wingate as a Firewall depends jsut on configuration you make to its security policy.

    regards,
    Basanta
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/97842

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice