1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Winnt 4.0 Server will not connect to the internet

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by brucew, Oct 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brucew

    brucew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    I have clean installed WINNT Server 4 sp6a (BDC) on an older server, Dell 266 with hardware SCSI RAID 5, 128MEG RAM/34GIG of hard drive space. NT sits on a 2 GIG, NTFS C: partition (over a GIG free). When I try to go to install Explorer 6 I get an error that says I am not connected to the Internet.

    I have used DHCP and a static addressing. DNS and gateway addresses are correct. I can ping my ISP's internet DNS servers. I have tried 2 different NICs, an Intel Proset and now a 3Com 3C509. There are no entries in the Event Viewer relating to any failures. I can see my entire local subnet. I can ping both sides of the router. I don't use DNS on the local subnet and I am using WINS. No proxy.

    I tried to use Explorer 4 to get to MSN or windows update and I get an "invalid request" error.

    All other servers and workstations are fine.
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    Are you saying you can ping host names and ip addresses.
     
  3. brucew

    brucew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    yes, that is correct. I can ping everything, internal and external.

    I have reinstalled NT several times using different NICs, all clean.

    This is very strange.
     
  4. brucew

    brucew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    It appears that I am now getting two errors in the App log:

    NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
    Event ID 3216

    System error 2116 occured
    System error 67 occured

    Any ideas what could be causing this?
     
  5. brucew

    brucew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Problem solved:

    I installed Ofiice 2000 along which I Explorer 5...bingo
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/175796

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice