wintasks 5.0 pro

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mom2inky

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
333
because my pc is almost running dead stop (comcast high speed) and i am about to lose my marbles, i ran the security task manager trial version; backweb-137903.exe had a rating of 82, the highest. i did the free scan using registry booster and had 324 errors or missing files/not necessary. so question: would it behoove me to purchase these two programs? thanks!!:confused:
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
475
So~Security Task Manager identified a HP bit of bloatware and Registry Booster said your system was full of "errors."

Sysinternals free Process Explorer can provide tons of process information:http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/ProcessesAndThreads/ProcessExplorer.mspx If that's not enough, the entire suite of Sysinternal Tools is also free:http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/utilities/sysinternalssuite.mspx Process libray will give detailed information about almost all processes:http://www.processlibrary.com/processscan/ and offers a free scan for problems. More info from: http://www.fileresearchcenter.com/

Superantispyware is a great free scanner for all types of malware:http://www.superantispyware.com/ And A-Squared Free began its life as a trojan hunter(and is now more):http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/free/

The XP Registry gets a new entry for almost everything I do on my machine. If I create a folder on my desktop and give it a name, a Registry entry is created. If I then move that folder to My Documents, another entry is created, and the first one becomes invalid. When XP needs that folder it finds both entries, yes. But in a mere nanosecond discovers that the first one is invalid and skips on to the correct one. It takes tons (and tons) of invalid entries before any noticable effect on XP's performance. Not that there aren't good reasons to clean up invalid entries-for example when removing all traces of a stubborn program or bit of malware. Most Registry cleaning programs simply wipe invalid Registry entries, and there are trusted free applications like CCleaner that can do that job safely: http://www.ccleaner.com/

Perhaps if we knew why you decided to use those two programs in the first place we could help with the underlying reason for your concern. Is your system problematic? CPU usage too high for too long? Do you suspect malware? Please post back with any and all details about your system and its conditions/problems and we will all do our best to help you get it sorted out.
 

mom2inky

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
333
thanks 1101doc! after running norton virus, ad-adware, and avg antispyware and coming up fine, removing anything not necessary like some firefox extensions i like (faststone capture) itunes, etc. it takes, on comcast high speed 15+ seconds to get file or control panel, thunderbird, etc. to open. then knowing how spyware works, the screen chops up the entries (part of thunderbird shows, control panel. since i have so minus patience it is driving me nuts!! not sure if this would help but here is the info after doing hijackthis--oops forgot how to send attachment--click "browse" where?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
475
Still don't quite have a handle on the problem. I feel like you're trying to tell me too much at once. One more time-please. PS: Not a good idea to post an unsolicited HijackThis file in this forum. Once that is done, only authorized people will be able to advise you. Just wait on that one.
 

mom2inky

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
333
sorry! i do tend to babble lol lol how can i be more succinct?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
475
Depending on how many processes you have running 15 sec may be normal. What is the story with the display? Is the goofy display permanent? Temporary? If temp, how long does it last? What's going on in Process Explorer while the problem is occurring? Do you have multiple applications open at the time? What are your RAM and CPU specs?
(Etc) PS: I like Faststone Capture too. Btw-the best!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top