1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

WinXP Pro Update Error

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by johnnieq, Apr 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. johnnieq

    johnnieq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 1999
    Messages:
    290
    I just installed WinXP Pro on a new P4 3.2GHz system.

    When I go to the Update site I receive the message "Windows Update has encountered an error and cannot display the requested page. Error number(0x800C0005)"

    Anyone ever see this and how do I fix it? :(
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Make sure the clocks date and time are correct and that includes the year.
     
  3. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    I found this information on the net:

    The error code 0x800C0005 means that IE is being blocked from "seeing"
    the Windows Update site.

    Check the Date and Time of the system to ensure they are accurate. Clear
    the Temporary Internet Files and History via Internet Options in the
    Control Panel. Now click the Advanced tab ... Under the Security heading
    make sure that : " Check for server certificate revocation " is NOT
    checked and " Do not save encrypted pages to disk " IS checked.

    Add the following Trusted Sites:
    1. Open Internet Explorer.
    2. Click "Tools," and then click "Internet Options."
    3. Click "Security."
    4. Click the Trusted Sites icon.
    5. Click "Sites."
    6. Clear the check box "Require server verification (https:)for all sites in
    this zone."
    7. Add the following sites.
    Windowsupdate.microsoft.com
    V4.Windowsupdate.microsoft.com
    https://v4.Windowsupdate.microsoft.com
    Download.Windowsupdate.com
     
  4. johnnieq

    johnnieq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 1999
    Messages:
    290
    I did all that. This machine has Norton Internet Security installed on it. I'm almost certain it's the problem. It is going to be uninstalled shortly.

    I'll let you know...

    & thanks...
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220723

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice