1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wired Connection "Network Cable Unplugged"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by radmanelite, Aug 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. radmanelite

    radmanelite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I have been trying (unsuccessfully), to connect to the wired connection in my dorm room. The wifi is working, but slow, and other people in our suite have fast wired connections. But when I go and try to connect with wired, my laptop says "Network Cable Unplugged". My network card is a PCIe GBE Family Controller with the 7.39.121.2011 driver. I run ipconfig/all, and I get this:

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : [school].edu
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-5D-C5-FD-52
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.83.53.164(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.192.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, August 27, 2011 5:24:02 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, August 28, 2011 12:12:12 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.83.0.5
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 131.91.213.231
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 131.91.214.48
    131.91.40.116
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-8C-11-C9-7F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    My laptop is a Asus G50VT, if that helps. Any help would be appreciated. I have already rollbacked/updated the drivers, restarted the computer, and ruled out the possibility of my ethernet cord or wall outlet.
     
  2. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    Could be a bad cable. Does the cable work with a different computer?
    Make sure your wireless is turned off when you try the ethernet connection.
    Also check your firewall settings to be sure Local Area Connection is allowed.
    Windows Firewall - Device Manager, Windows Firewall, Advanced tab; box next to Loacal Area Connection checked.
     
  3. radmanelite

    radmanelite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    No luck. My ethernet cable works with other computers
    I tried turning off and disabling my wireless connection before inserting the ethernet cord
    In addition, the Windows Firewall allows the LAN connection.

    2 Notes: I have not used the wired connection before. Also, I do have Norton Security Suite; don't know if that is the problem.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    Some laptops turn off the ethernet if it is not used at boot. So, make sure the cable is plugged in before you turn the machine on.

    Norton (at least some products) have different settings for wireless and wired, so could be the problem. To be sure it is not the culprit you could uninstall it, run Symantec's Norton Removal Tool, and then reinstall after testing. There are instructions on that link for making sure you have your Product Key for reinstallation.
     
  5. radmanelite

    radmanelite Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Still no dice. I uninstalled Norton and restarted my computer with no Norton, No Windows Firewall, and Wireless off while having my ethernet cable plugged in. And it still won't recognize my ethernet cable. Any other solutions. I have already tried resetting my TCP/IP and IPv4 and 6 in the cmd window.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    Sounding like a defective ethernet adapter. I don't know what else to try, other than to get a USB ethernet adapter.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1014780