wired router drops connection after reset

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Hodda

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
5
Hi

Hope you can help, I had to factory reset my router for security purposes etc, and after this Ive had problems with a lost connection when I connect via a wired router (philips snb6500 11g)

If i wire direct from modem to PC (vista) then the connections stays ok, but when i connect via the router i lose connection perhaps after an hour or so - this is resolved if I reboot them all - modem, router pc in that order etc - I cant at the moment get one computer to stay on let alone the second wired pc needed also!

Had this problem before and it was suggested that I updated the firmware (which i have already done this)

Im a bit of a novice really but can do basic bits etc under guidance - im sure this problem is just a config type fix buty not sure what to change etc and how, anyway I hope this might be enough info to start off:

Tearing my hair out now as ve had this probl for over a week!

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : behemoth
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connec
tion
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-27-8E-F5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::75fa:595d:59c2:dd3f%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.11(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 September 2008 22:03:12
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 29 October 2144 04:48:21
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201334025
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:d5c7:a2ca:427:81:3f57:fef4(Preferr
ed)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::427:81:3f57:fef4%8(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B39A3666-1854-4E57-91A2-9A8012B51
BF7}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.11%10(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
If upgrading the firmware and resetting to factory defaults and reconfiguring don't cure this, it may simply be a defective router.

The system work fine connected directly to the modem, but introduce the router and the problem occurs. Diagnosis: The router is the cause.
 

Hodda

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
5
Thanks for the reply John, I would say that if the router didnt work and lost connections all the time then yes faulty router but....


When I wrote the message yesterday I was online (using my PC on vista) via the modem wired to the router wired to the PC, the problem starts when I try to connect the 2nd PC (XP which is also hardwired to router) and try to use both computers at the same time to connect to the internet - after a short time connection drops.

I think that somewhere during the resetting and firmware update, I have changed/removed some settings on the router so that when both PC connections are open, it causes some sort of clash of IP thingies!!

Hope this helps and you can shed some more light on this!

Thanks
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
It's easy to see if you have an IP address conflict, one of the machines will complain about a duplicate IP address. Truthfully, that mechanism works pretty well, and if both machines are set for automatic addressing and you haven't disabled DHCP on the router, it shouldn't be an issue.


If you've upgraded the firmware to the latest version and reset to factory defaults, that's about all I can suggest for wired connections. If you still have the issue with the router in the picture and it works fine connected directly to the modem, I'd be router shopping. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top