Wired/Wireless Internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joe1167

Hi,
You have a really helpful site, I've learned a lot. I'm a newbie and this is my first time posting....here goes. I have a Dell desktop with Verizon Broadband DSL which uses a Westell VersaLink Gateway Modem/Router. My desktop is running Windows XP. I recently bought a Dell notebook and would like to set it up wireless so I can access the internet anywhere in the house (within reason, of course). According to the specs, the notebook has a 56k modem integrated card and an Intel Pro Internal Wireless 802.11 b/g 54mb ps. The notebook also runs Windows XP. My question is.....how do I go about accomplishing this? I'm new at this and would like to learn how to configure this small residential network with maybe some add-ons in the future. Any help is very much appreciated. I know this is probably very minor for most, but for me it's more than I've ever done so it's a start. Thanks very much for anything you can tell me.
Happy new year! :)
-Joe

As long as your Westell VersaLink Gateway Modem/Router has more than 1 port you can simply add on an wireless access point. Depending upon the size of the house and the makeup of the walls (is this open floor plan or thick concrete walls?) you may need more repeaters or additional wired access points.

BTW since you indicated your current wireless adapter is wireless g you would want to buy wireless g equipment.

TerryNet

Terry
I think that the Westell VersaLink Gateway Modem/Router is wireless. If I'm right, and if the wireless is on by default, all you need to do initially is connect the laptop.