1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Access Point

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by patriotsboy12, Dec 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. patriotsboy12

    patriotsboy12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    page 11 just shows you how to log into the router - you should be able to do this with internet explorer on windows 7

    what happens on your PC ?
     
  3. patriotsboy12

    patriotsboy12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Etaf,

    I am trying to "disable acess the internet using a proxy server function", after that the instructions to do that are in Windows XP. Can you tell me how to do this in Windows 7?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may not have a proxy server setup

    its pretty much the same

    in the search box - top right hand side - type internet options and a window will appear where you can check proxy server

    have a look at these links -
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Remove any proxy settings
    Check your browser's settings, remove or uncheck any proxy settings if found

    http://www.plus.net/support/software/browsers/proxies.shtml

    http://www.ehow.com/how_5512742_remove-proxy-server.html


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. patriotsboy12

    patriotsboy12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I have that done, now when I try to type in the ip address of the WAP in Google chrome or internet explorer, it will not find the page.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    only use internet explorer- did you change the settings at all in the past - reset the WAP to factory defaults and try the IP address again
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082799

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice