1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Ad-Hoc Problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Gibush, Oct 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gibush

    Gibush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Hello, you won't recognize me as I've only posted a few times before.

    Anyway, I have a problem. Just today I set up a wireless ad-hoc network (I think thats what it's called). I have dial-up, hence the ad-hoc. I followed step by step instructions, and to my joy, it worked. My new network, home-adhoc, is a success!
    So, I went onto the client computer (It's me and my brother by the way, we want to play online together), and found out that it connects. Yay! I can file share...Yay!

    But!

    I don't know how to connect it to the internet. I connected my host computer to telus (our ISP), went to wireless options or whatever, enabled shared internet, put automatically detect IP or whatever it is, and went on the client computer. The problem isn't really that I can't, it's just that I don't know how. When I start up firefox, it still pops up with "do you want to dial telus 324234234234 or whatever", and if I press connect, of course it says "cannot detect telephone signal".

    This is really frustrating.

    Please respond ASAP!

    Thanks in advance,

    James.:)
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    For the secondary computer(s), you don't want them trying to dial, only the primary computer has a modem.

    In Firefox, Tools, Options, Advanced, and click on the Settings... button in the Connection section. Select the Direct connection to the Internet option.
     
  3. Gibush

    Gibush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Hey, thanks for the quick answer. Unfortunately, (perhaps I'm running an older/newer version of firefox? I think it's the newest, I just got it a few days ago.) , under tools > options > advanced > network > connection > settings, all there was, was "use no proxy, use manual proxy, autodetect proxy" .

    I tried all of them and it still asked me to connect. When I pressed cancel, it just said page cannot be displayed.

    Any other way?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,261
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are you using dynamic addressing on the ad-hoc wireless or did you assign manual IP addresses? If you are using dynamic then all you should have to do is enable Internet Connection Sharing on the dial-up connection and the client should then have internet access unless a non-Windows firewall is blocking.
     
  5. Gibush

    Gibush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    I assume you mean that "auto-detect IP" thing. Yes, that is enabled.
    I just tried that, and it didn't work... On my computer it says that the telus connection is shared, but when I go to his it does exactly squat.
    When I click shared on the telus connection it says "You previous were sharing on the wireless network, now you are sharing with the dial-up network" or something to that effect, and then same when I enable sharing on the wireless network connection. (I doubt it matters but for my adaptor I'm using the D-link WUA-2340... and thats what my wireless connection is running on, I think. Like I said, it says I'm connected to ad-hoc home (my connections name) through the USB adaptor thing, yet theres no internet gateway or shared thingy , or whatever should be there.

    Please help.

    Also, with this ad-hoc is there a way to do a LAN type thing, like my brother and I playing a PC game just together, not on the net, so that theres no lag?

    Thanks again. Getting frustrated with all this hooplah.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,261
    First Name:
    Terry
    The ad-hoc wireless connection is a LAN.

    You enable ICS on the connection that has internet access.

    Show the following for both PCs, please ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  7. Gibush

    Gibush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    This is for the first PC, the host, which is mine, in my room. (I just used my handy new file sharing ability to get my brothers.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\User>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JAMES
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-60-66-50-EA

    PPP adapter telus:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 161.184.176.74
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 161.184.176.74
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 199.185.220.36
    199.185.220.52
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link WUA-2340 USB Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-58-97-40-0D
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.95.125
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::21e:58ff:fe97:400d%13
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%4
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter 6to4 Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6to4 Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A1-B8-B0-4A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:a1b8:b04a::a1b8:b04a
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A9-FE-5F-7D
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.95.125%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A1-B8-B0-4A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:161.184.176.74%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Documents and Settings\User>

    This is the second, the client, in my bro's room.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\User>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PATRICK
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-60-48-96-46

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link WUA-2340 USB Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-91-1C-A4-11
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.228.18
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::221:91ff:fe1c:a411%10
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5445:5245:444f%5
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A9-FE-E4-12
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.228.18%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Documents and Settings\User>
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
  9. Gibush

    Gibush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    I'm pretty sure I did, as I already explained... my network is "connected" and the connection is"very good".

    I also went to the dial-up connection and enabled it. I tried enabling it on both computers, then one, and man, it's just really frustrating. I followed some online tutorial word for word, and at one point I even had my brothers computer saying "telus from JAMES" or something like it would work, but it didn't and now it doesen't show that anymore.

    Will you stick around and give me some hints?
     
  10. Gibush

    Gibush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Sorry to double post, but also as I mentioned in another thread, when I click network wizard (as windows recommended to me) and try to click "have this computer let others connect to it" or something like that, it says that the LAN network cable is disconnected. What network cable?! This is supposedly wireless...

    Thanks again.
     
  11. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    On the host computer, you need to share the dial-up Internet connection. It sounds like you're clicking on some type of Ethernet-based network instead. You don't want to enable anything dial-up related on the guest computer because it's not connecting to anything using dial-up. It's connecting with the wireless connection.

    I doubt the network wizard is going to do anything for you since you're trying to share a dial-up connection over an ad-hoc wireless connection. That's a very difficult combo.
     
  12. Gibush

    Gibush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Yeah. I've been clicking share dialup for ages now. I've been running from room to room for hours, and whats been happening is the IP properties keep switching! I have them both on "automatically detect IP" and they keep changing.
    Plus, now another wrench in the works. I disconnected and pressed "repair " on the connection or whatever, and now the wireless connection won't connect, but the LAN will! earlier the lan said it's cord was undone, and now it's connected?!

    Nothing is showing up on the other computer. I hate to ask, but could you give me detailed instructions on exactly everything I have to do? I clearly missed something even though that seems impossible. Also, sometimes in advanced it lets me pretty "Wireless network" , sometimes its stuck on "local area connection" and sometimes it's stuck on "select private network". It's getting ridiculously infuriating.

    I'll probably give up soon, but I'll await your reply. If you think you can help, then I'll keep trying. If not, I'll wait til tommorow and see if anyone has responded.

    Thanks once again.
     
  13. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I don't have any detailed instructions to give you. There are hundreds of tutorials on the web, but I don't know of anything that will spell out the specific details for what you're doing. You kind of have to piece it together.
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I closed that one. We frown upon duplicate posting.
     
  15. Gibush

    Gibush Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    I tried my best to piece it together, I'm really at my wits end here...
    I've been working on this for hours. I've done everything everyones told me, followed tutorials, checked everything...

    Thanks anyway.

    Sorry for the double thread.

    Bye for now.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755578

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice