Wireless Ad hoc Vista & XP for dial up sharing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pael

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
4
Hi
Hving probl to share dial up internet connection in our Xp & vista laptop..
ICS Run'g Xp & hv a Dlink G630 W/less card..
Client is run'g Vista home prem 7 in built w/less..

Able to share file or see each other but unable to share the internet connection..

useing static IP 192.168.10.1 & 2 & DNS server IP.. Dial up connection hv ticked for sharing connection.. Firewell setting on dial up but no firewell set for WLANs.. hs unchecked the IPV6 from vista..

What else I need to do to share the internet connection? I saw some of the Q&A from this forum & tried to follow but failed..

Need further help..

thanks
Pael
 

pael

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
4
b/band is the different/alternet solution.. if possible I need this solution..
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
3,477
You will drive yourself nuts trying to correctly configure this, but , if you insist, I woudl make sure the XP box is doing the dialing and then let the Vista machine shae. Disable all internal firewalls. Use the WZC utility to configure the Ad-Hoc connection and not the third party utility.

TIME is money.................
 

pael

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
4
The probl hs resolved... I can share internet...
I needed this solution only for my interest..
Below the solu I hv tried & succeeded.

Set up a LAN connection with static IP & DNS..
Check whether able to share the Internet..---------- Initially had a probl.. Found a virtual device on vista's network site. Share internet through this device.. Click to get internet through this device & Succeeded..

Then unpluged the Phy LAN & connected the WLAN with diffirent Static IP & DNS hv'g internet ON in ICS host(xp m/c).. Connected the Ad hoc network & Succeeded ...


Anyway I am going to get b/band..


thanks
 

pael

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
4
yep
W/less D604T GII-- Dlink.. Hopefully there will be no probl.. Any issue, I will ask for further help..

thanks
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
12
Hi you said you found the below virtual device could you please advise the URL for it
Thanks

Found a virtual device on vista's network site. Share internet through this device.. Click to get internet through this device & Succeeded..
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top