1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless adapter frequently loses internet connection.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by brear, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brear

brear Thread Starter

Sorry i am new to this so i hope i am doing this post correctly. One of my 3 computers is having frequent drops (every few minutes) of connection to the internet even though it is still wirelessly connected to the routerand the connection is very good. No other computer has this problem. I have changed from a PCI wireless card to a USB adapter but still the same problem. If i bring the laptop to the computer the laptop does not have the problem so that seems to rule out interference.
    I have used both the adapter software and XP to connect.
    How can i remedy this. The computer is using XP SP3.

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

How do you know it's still connected to the router? What do you do when it loses the connection to restore it?

When it's "disconnected", please do this.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

3. JohnWill

PS: I've removed your duplicate post in the other thread, please stick to your own thread for your issue.

4. brear

brear Thread Starter

Thank you

I will do that later.