Wireless Adapter - How to Tell what Band it's Using a/b/g/n?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BratDawg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Messages
677
First Name
Carla
My internet connection has been very iffy in the last year or so. There's another connection from across the street I can access but it's also not a good connection. (I live on a school campus with wireless campus set up).

IT guy said I should be sure I am connecting with Wireless N - not a/b/g.

How can I tell? I can't remember.

I have a dell laptop and it's not that old. It says in the hardware manager that it is capable of N. How do I check how it's connecting?

I have broadband internet with a router that has wireless built in. I connect wirelessly.

Thanks

Carla
 
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
3,969
First Name
Shane
What is the make and model of the wireless adaptor you are using?
 

BratDawg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Messages
677
First Name
Carla
Dell Wireless 1705 802.11 b/g/n 2.4 ghz

It's what is built into the Dell laptop I bought from Walmart a year or two ago.

Thanks
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,665
First Name
Allan
Right-click the wireless icon by the clock > Open Network and Sharing Centre > click Wireless Network Connection (blue text) then tell us what it says for Speed.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
1,768
I do the following:
Press the Windows flag key + R and in the open field type: cmd (press enter)
In command prompt type the following:

netsh wlan show interface (press enter)

Look for “Radio Type”, this is the current connection standard you have between your wireless adapter and the router.
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,665
First Name
Allan
I do the following:
Press the Windows flag key + R and in the open field type: cmd (press enter)
In command prompt type the following:

netsh wlan show interface (press enter)

Look for “Radio Type”, this is the current connection standard you have between your wireless adapter and the router.
That's too easy. ;)

Actually that's a much better way to do it. I do like to check the speed with a test now and again though.
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
I use a program called inSSIDer that shows the information for all detected wireless interfaces.
 

BratDawg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Messages
677
First Name
Carla
radio type is 802.11n and i'm connected using my home network. thanks! i think it's my provider. speedtest doesn't often work - it stalls. it's gotten really bad over the last couple of years. sadly, i don't have alot of choices. even dishnetwork won't provide internet service here. haven't tried to contact wildblue in awhile. :(

they checked my lines and replaced my router and it still hasn't helped. i even bought a new laptop! :(

as much as I pay per month to not even be able to stream a youtube video without constant buffering stinks.

thanks for the help tho!
 

BratDawg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Messages
677
First Name
Carla
got speedtest to run and it gave me ping 231 ms, download .46mbps and upload .10mbps

never did figure out how to read the results - good bad ugly fair :(
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
1,768
To me that's bad (really bad) but it depends on what speed your ISP says you should be getting up too.
Can you use an ethernet cable to directly plug the laptop into the router and try the speedtest again? Note any difference.
Are you able to log into the router to make changes? If so what is the make and model of the router?
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Also try it temporarily(just while checking speed) without any software firewall and anti-virus and from right next to the router. Also test it with Ethernet cable.
Those figures are slower that I used to get on dial up.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top