1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless broadband help.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gill501, Jun 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gill501

gill501 Thread Starter

Hi, I hope this is the correct place to post this dilema... I have been using wireless broadband for about 5 years now and I have never felt like pulling my hair out as much as in the last few weeks!!
    It all started (or maybe it is just a coincidence) when my boyfriend got a laptop of his own and added it to our wireless network. We got Norton 360 with his laptop and have both installed this on our laptops then too. Anyway, since then we have been losing our internet connection frequently, sometimes for days at a time, we can sometimes get it back by turning off the router, leaving it for 10 mins then turning it back on again. Even when we do get an Internet connection I cant get a web page to open first time. I get a "page cannot be displayed" error, then if i click on the address bar and hit "go" again I get the page to open. It is driving me daft!

Here's some info so that maybe someone has an idea what is wrong or can suggest to me what to do :

One Compaq Presario running XP Home SP2
    One Advent laptop running Vista
    Belkin wireless modem router G Plus MIMO
    Connected to Orange Broadband (up to 8MB)
    Router placed in spare room upstairs, laptops used in room directly underneath, never had a problem with interference
    We are 1.2 miles from exchange, supposed to get at least 4.5 Mbps!
    Actual download speed 177kbps
    Upload speed 83.4 kbps

So you see I am not sure what has happened but it is annoying, any help would be great. Thanks

2. nerdincolorado

nerdincolorado