Wireless connection but no ethernet connection!!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

littleonelaura

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
4
Hola,

Been having this problem for about a week, we have wireless connection to all our devices, but the cabled desktop is not connecting to the internet!

So far we have...

-IP renew
-Flushed DNS
-'Repaired' connection
-Virus scans
-Removed Bonjour
-Reset modem (Netgear DG834PN)
-Installed new network adaptor (on advice of local computer support shop... verbal advice only, they have not seen the comp).

I believe the error it is coming out with is 'No IP Configuration Found.'

Comp is an ACER Aspire M3190 and we're running on Win7.

Please help!!! It's driving me nutty!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Have you verified that the router port and cable are good by connecting successfully with another computer?

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

littleonelaura

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
4
Yes, we have tried plugging it in to a laptop, and that worked, I'm pretty sure it's the computer itself.

Here's my results;

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.



Windows IP Configuration

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-EA-3A-80-23-6F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a13f:2a41:48c5:b89b%14(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 05 November 2011 19:34:28
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 08 November 2011 19:34:28
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 393538106
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-C4-EC-80-44-87-FC-CB-87-9D

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 44-87-FC-CB-87-9D
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{F037E7A1-FD3B-4EFF-A644-019C59AA830E}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{FC518AAD-C977-4ABB-A35C-1CC80E95F9A0}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Try these tests (also in a Command prompt) ...

ping 192.168.0.2 (or whatever your current IPv4 address is)

ping 192.168.0.1

ping 8.8.8.8

ping yahoo.com
 

littleonelaura

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
4
Hello, please accept my apologies for such a delayed response!

Here are my results from the above pings;

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\XXXXX>ping 192.168.0.2

Pinging 192.168.0.2 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.2:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\XXXXX>ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\XXXXX>ping 8.8.8.8

Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Users\XXXXX>ping yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


C:\Users\XXXXX>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Since you have internet access through that router with a wireless connection (right?) it sounds like a router defect--the ethernet part of the LAN side is not talking properly with the WAN. Try connecting another computer, that you know has internet access, by ethernet instead of wireless to get a "second opinion."

Reset the router to factory default settings and reconfigure it. This sometimes coaxes a router into behaving again.
 

littleonelaura

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
4
Hiya,

Tried both of the above last night and now we have no internet access at all lol! I think the router is dead so we're trying another one today.

Thank you for all your help so far!!

L
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top