1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Connection keeps timing out

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by bevendy5, Mar 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bevendy5

    bevendy5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I just bought a new laptop and the wireless connection worked fine when I was at a hotel, but once I got my computer home and set up my wireless connection, it keeps on resetting itself. It will connect for a few minutes and then it will say that it has limited or no connectivity and then it will disconnect entirely. It just keeps on repeating this cycle. I had no problem with my previous notebook computer which was running Windows XP.

    I am using Verizon Fios on a windows vista based computer. The router is an actiontec. I called Verizon Fios tech support and they told me that a lot of vista users have been having this problem and they suggested that I go to the microsoft website to find out about this isssue. I went to the microsoft website, but was not able to find anything about my issue.

    Here is my IPCONFIG

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Webster>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d11d:5cf:cd32:a13d%9
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.4%12
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    C:\Users\Webster>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LH-08N4HIMQJPXI
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : LAN-Express AS IEEE 802.11g PCI-E Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-7E-6C-39-97
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d11d:5cf:cd32:a13d%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 01, 2008 2:46:44 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 02, 2008 4:38:26 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218110333
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-A9-CA-8C-70
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.home
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.4%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e66:2031:1384:3f57:fefb(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2031:1384:3f57:fefb%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    And you get no such disconnects when connected to the same router via ethernet?

    If 'yes' to above, since the wireless worked fine elsewhere the primary suspect in my mind is wireless interference, especially from a 2.4Ghz cordless phone or another network on the same or close channel.

    Of course, make sure that you have the latest correct driver for your wireless adapter.
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Also make sure it is trying to connect to YOUR wireless network, and not a neighbors.
     
  4. bevendy5

    bevendy5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I am sure that I am connecting to my own wireless network and not anyone else's because the SSID is our last name. As for the interference, I am also sure that is not the issue because we changed our phones to a 5.8 GHZ instead of the 2.8 GHZ.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I hope that you aren't broadcasting the SSID :eek:
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    Other people have found the Actiontec provided by Verizon to be problematic. Some things to try are a firmware update, testing with encryption disabled, and different channels.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    "I hope that you aren't broadcasting the SSID"

    Why? Is their last name a bad word or something? :)
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I'm sure that you are being funny :p

    Of course, it's not a good thing to broadcast your SSID in any event, regardless how poorly you name it :eek:
     
  9. bevendy5

    bevendy5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    It's encrypted anyhow so nobody can access it, but us. I contacted the tech support for my computer manufacturer and they had me reset the bios and reinstall the driver for the wireless card. That seems to have done the trick for now.

    It is funny that you said that actiontec has been problematic, when I spoke to the verizon fios tech, she said that windows vista was the problematic one. I have to agree with her because I never had a problem with my wireless connection with XP.


    Thanks for your suggestions.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    Yeah, I was trying to be funny. But I think that SSID should always be broadcast. Not doing so makes your own network harder to use and makes it harder for neighbors to avoid using an interfering channel. If you're thinking security, I'm sure you know that means WPA or WPA2 or, if necessary, WEP encryption.
     
  11. bevendy5

    bevendy5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    The fix helped for about an hour and it started doing it again as soon as I restarted my computer. I tried applying the fix again, but it didn't help. I am going out of my mind trying to figure this out. The fix was to reset the bios and reinstall the wireless card driver. Does anybody have any other ideas?
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I would try setting a fixed ip for the wireless adapter instead of using DHCP.
     
  13. bevendy5

    bevendy5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    How do I set up a fixed IP?
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Go to network, right click on the wireless adapter, go to properties, and you'll set it there with the tcpip settings....the one that is numbered 4.

    Set the default gateway too, as listed above in your copy and paste info.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,493
    Have you checked to make sure you have the latest correct driver for your wireless adapter?

    Do you detect any other wireless networks (especially when the problem occurs)? If so, are they on your same or close channel? Even if not have you tried different channels in case somebody has disabled their SSID broadcast and your adapter does not detect it? In North America the non interfering channels are 1, 6 and 11.

    What wireless utility are you using--Vista's, one provided by the adapter's manufacturer, one supplied by the PC manufacturer? Are you sure no other one is running?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/688906