Wireless connection works, then stops: Windows 7 64-bit issue?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kendallcorner

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
12
Hi everyone-

I've got a puzzler--for me anyway, hopefully someone will have some advice.

My laptop connects to my modem and the internet, then after a minute or so, it stops working. It is not loading any pages, won't ping anything (request timed out), and is probably not connected to the router anymore since I can't load the router administration from that computer, but I still have a valid IP address, and Windows still insists that I'm connected.

The laptop internet works fine when using a wired connection. It also works fine when connecting to other wireless connections (work and Starbucks are 2 I've tried). The home network works fine on my Lenovo X61 running Windows XP as well as my LG p-925 (phone) running Android 2.2, my Acer A500 (Android 3.2). So I'm thinking it's a Windows 7 issue with my router, but I haven't been able to find anything on the topic online.

The router is a Dlink DIR-655

The laptop is a Samsung Series 3 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit. This one, in fact: http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-NP350...Y8J4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1321148125&sr=8-1

It is fresh out of the box. I have only installed Firefox, Dropbox, and AVG, which I did at work, where the wireless connection works ...

A list of things I've tried:
restarting the router, the modem, the laptop and again ...
removing encryption from the router
resetting router to factory settings
updating drivers on the computer (they were up to date)
uninstalling and reinstalling drivers for network card
checking for updates to router (no updates)
disabling ip helper (don't know what that does, it was just suggested somewhere)
disabling ipv6 (this appeared to work for awhile, but I left and came back and reconnected and now I'm having the same problem)
changing DNS servers

I've had it. What the heck is going on? Any ideas?

Thanks
 

kendallcorner

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
12
Just kidding. Just like the ipv6 "fix" it appeared to work for longer than usual, but it is back to its usual shenanigans again. I am calling Samsung support on Monday, I guess. I am at a loss
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from Samsung's web site.

Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

kendallcorner

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
12
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : QKMW-laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : ok.cox.net

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ok.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6230
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 88-53-2E-50-B3-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3d4f:84e6:b9aa:51ee%22(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 13, 2011 8:19:16 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 20, 2011 8:27:30 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 361255726
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-A8-32-9A-E8-11-32-61-E3-64
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ok.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-11-32-C9-82-73
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 88-53-2E-50-B3-05
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{B2069F73-1818-4AD9-947F-00C1DE5166C3}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.ok.cox.net:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ok.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.102%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:38c6:1964:bb9e:5f38(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::38c6:1964:bb9e:5f38%19(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

That's me, "keya":


If I disconnect and then reconnect, it works for about ten seconds, then stops. Thanks for the help.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
Still want to see the Xirrus output. (EDIT: never mind. :) )

Using the same procedure as for the ipconfig /all please try these tests ...

ping 192.168.0.102 (or whatever your current IPv4 address is)

ping 192.168.0.1

ping 8.8.8.8

ping yahoo.com
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
Possibly a little interference from other networks, but it shouldn't be causing a problem. If it is, using channel 6 may give better results.

That dip in the Signal history, unless you can associate it with an external factor such as moving the computer, is a little worrisome, but the signal should still be strong enough.
 

kendallcorner

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
12
192.168.0.102: all work and <1ms

The router: 75% loss

8.8.8.8: 50% loss

yahoo.com: 50% loss

Interesting since yesterday I was getting mostly time-outs.

I have tried several DNS options (automatic from the ISP, "Advanced DNS service" provided by the router, 8.8.8.8, and something else I found suggested on a forum) to no avail.
 

kendallcorner

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
12
The D-link has an autoscan feature that picks the best channel for you. I also disabled this and chose my own channel using another utility, which also didn't work. It has to be the computer or Windows 7, no? since my XP machine and everything else works fine.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
It has to be the computer or Windows 7, no?
I was about ready to agree and say that the adapter is probably defective, but (from your first post) "It also works fine when connecting to other wireless connections (work and Starbucks are 2 I've tried)." begs to differ.

Try with your router's encryption disabled ('off'' or 'none' or similar). If that helps then try WPA-PSK (not WPA2).
 

kendallcorner

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
12
Well, I think maybe it's an issue with my computer or Windows 7 64-bit and the router. I have already tried no encryption with the same result. I also reset my router to factory settings in case I had done something wonky to it in the past.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,340
First Name
Terry
There are some cases where apparently a particular adapter and a particular router just refuse to play nice together. You might want to try a different router or to try a USB wireless adapter with the laptop at home.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top