Wireless Connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
Any help on this would be appreciated.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: AMD A4-3300M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, AMD64 Family 18 Model 1 Stepping 0
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3562 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon(TM) HD 6480G, 512 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 461546 MB, Free - 389586 MB; D: Total - 15088 MB, Free - 1674 MB;
Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 169B
Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012, Updated and Enabled

Issue: HP PavilionG6. I am intermittently losing my wireless connection to my Dlink router. My wired desktop connects online as well as my wife's Dell laptop. I don't know whats going on with this. I am connected now. Adapter says I have a good connection. The adapter is Ralink5390 802.11/b/g/n What do I check? Possible bad adapter?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
8
Yeah I used to have an adapter that did that, it would just disconnect constantly so i assumed it was just a bad adapter. Try updating the drivers from RaLink's website. I bought this adapter http://www.amazon.com/Wireless-802-11N-Network-Adapter-Noteook/dp/B00333AWTA/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1357322112&sr=8-16&keywords=realtek+wireless+adapter after my mishap and it works flawlessly. If you dont like adapter that stick out, I wouldn't recommend it. I have a desktop and I have it around back so I doesn't bother me, if you're using for the laptop than look for another adapter but at that price range its the best.

Good luck.
Domonin
 

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
I have an external Dlink adapter which I tried after going to device manager and disabling the Ralink. It would not connect and I don't understand why. I did load the driver software for it as well.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,760
Which one do you want to work on? If the integrated adapter make sure you have the latest wireless driver from HP's web site. If you already have the latest reinstall it anyhow in case the installed instance is corrupted.

Do those other devices also lose connection at the same time?

Do you have the same problem when using an ethernet connection?

When you have a connection and when you do not ...

Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

Also show ...

Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
I truly believe right now that I have some type of interference in my location where I use the laptop. I am about forty non-direct feet away from my router. I cannot move the router to another location. When I bring the laptop to the room with the router my connection becomes excellent, that's why I think there is something interfering solves the issue.. I am thinking to try a high gain antenna to plug into my router and see if that works, if not, maybe going to run a cable in the attic and hook up directly. Here is IP config all: By the way, no other devices lose their connection. I attached Xirrus

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Peter>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peter-HP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : launchmodem.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-E3-B5-57-D2-3E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : CC-AF-78-59-C3-23
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8a4:8dd2:25aa:18a5%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.103(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 04, 2013 3:13:24 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 05, 2013 3:13:25 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 248295288
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-CB-71-58-CC-AF-78-59-C3-23

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:82a:3ac2:bef7:6703(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::82a:3ac2:bef7:6703%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{665581E5-C0C5-4772-8139-63BBE69D4CE4}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.launchmodem.com:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : launchmodem.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

Attachments

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,760
The signal strength is fine.

Try channel 1 or 11 to make sure there is no interference from that other network.

And 2.4 GHz cordless phone or baby monitor or other device?
 

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
I changed to channel 2. There are no 2.4ghz phones, baby monitors.totally stymied, there's got to be something. just fyi, I am near about6 feet, to an LCD TV and DVR. Not sure that could be a problem. Also, my logitech wireless muse is 2.4ghz.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top