1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless connections disconnect when wired connections activ

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dembaz, Dec 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dembaz

    dembaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hi,

    I am running an Afoundry EW1200 Router with a Virgin media Super hub acting as a modem.

    Every time the wired connections on the network, a Windows 10 PC and Windows 10 laptop, connect to the internet, all the wireless connections on the 2.4G band can no longer connect to the internet.

    Has anyone got any suggestions for why this is happening/ solutions to fix this?

    Thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,907
    First Name:
    Wayne
    any reason to not just use the superhub on its own ?

    you have configured the virgin superhub to be a modem only NO wireless and you get the public IP address from the superhub

    is that correct
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,336
    First Name:
    James
    To add to this, if the wireless devices on the 2.4GHz cannot use 5GHz, then you will need to set the router to only broadcast 2.4GHz.
    However you shouldn't need to do this and it sounds like an issue with the router.
     
  4. dembaz

    dembaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    The reason I am not using the superhub is the range of the WIFI is shocking. Some devices on the network can use 5GHz hence why that is still active

    Having done some ping tests the problem only seems to be when the wired connection (computer) is sending or receiving data. I am guessing it is using all of the bandwidth so no other connections can send/receive any data.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,907
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the bandwidth is not controlled between devices , so one device can hog all the bandwidth , so this maybe, as you suspect, exactly what is happening
     
  6. dembaz

    dembaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Is there any way to alter this?
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,907
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i cannot find a user manual for the Ew1200 to see if it has QoS configuration
     
  8. dembaz

    dembaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    9
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,907
    First Name:
    Wayne
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1182230

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice