1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Distribution Service (WDS) to extend range of an existing router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hpb, Nov 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hpb

    hpb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Hi, I'm trying to extend the range of my existing D-Link DIR 615 router with a TP-Link WR841N router through the WDS mode on the WR841N. I've matched the settings on each of them but they still do not connect. Any ideas?

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. AmerNetworks

    AmerNetworks

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Unfortunately the DIR-615 does not have WDS mode (some dlink routers do). Here are some suggestions:
    1) Purchase an additional AP like the WR841N or the new Amer Networks WAP200n (http://amer.com/products/176-wap200n.aspx) Connect 1 AP to the router and the other AP to the remote location, setup WDS.
    2) Purcahse a new router with WDS mode
    3) Use repeater mode on the AP. This will extend the wireless range but will cut the throughput in half
     
  3. AmerNetworks

    AmerNetworks

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    oh wait, I didn't realize the WR841N was a router. You might be able to find customized firmware for the DIR-615 that will enable the WDS feature (dd-wrt)
     
  4. hpb

    hpb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    I'm trying to keep my DIR 615 as the primary router that will serve as the DHCP server. The WR841N is the one that has the WDS feature in it and i'm trying to make that the AP that'll increase my coverage area!
     
  5. AmerNetworks

    AmerNetworks

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028763

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice