1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless DNS problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by doxman, Nov 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. doxman

    doxman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Hi frends,

    I have Windows Vista on a Dell Inspiron e1705 with Dell 1390 wireless minicard on the system. I'm having problems in the internet connection. I can connect to the internet but after a certain time ( 45 min.s or so ) I can't open pages on Interent explorer 7 or any Firefox or whatever browser I use. It says that the page can't be displayed but still I can see on the system tray that it shows there is interet connection ( no "limited connectivity" ),,, If I dont sign out of windows live messenger before that problem occur, then I'm still able to use the windows live messenger and still have conversations. And one thing, my downloads are still in process,,, the files are still getting downloaded. But I can't surf any page. it says, There is a DNS error ,, after a certain time interval,,, like 15 - 20 minutes ,, the connection goes fine again,,,and then again comes the problem,, it goes around and around ,,, do you guyz have any idea about this?.. please help me out guyz...

    thank you so much.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    are you downloading all the time in the background
     
  3. doxman

    doxman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    thanx for the quick reply,,,
    Yes, I surf the internet while the files are downloading,,, but when i use my frend's laptop, there never shows up such dns problem even if i'm downloading in background,,
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Is that laptop used on your broadband connection when it works OK
     
  5. doxman

    doxman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Yes, on my broadband connection, that frend's laptop works fine,,,
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may have a virus or spyware

    post a hjt log

    HIJACK THIS:

    Download and copy hijackthis to its own folder , it makes backups so keeping them separate and available can be useful.
    SO DO NOT put hjt onto the desktop or temp files.

    create a directory say my documents/hjt


    Note the Spyware tools websites are very often under attack and so I have provided more than 1 location to download from:


    http://computercops.biz/zx/Merijn/hijackthis.zip
    http://www.merijn.org/files/hijackthis.zip
    http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/hijackthis.zip
    http://209.133.47.200/~merijn/downloads.html
    http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/
    http://aumha.org/downloads/hijackthis.exe
    http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html

    ------------------------------
    i have asked for the post to be moved to the secruity forum for a guru to check - only people with shields next to thier names are allowed to check HJT logs on this forum.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you download HJT from here, you'll get the latest version and it'll automatically install into it's own folder. HijackThis 2.00.2 direct download.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thanks JohnWill I will update my text too,
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That's the current owner of the HJT program, so it should be current. :) I've never had any issues downloading from there, and since it's a major AV company, I suspect they' don't get knocked off the air too often.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/647211

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice