1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Help Please.. ATHEROS + WINDOWS XP

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Wbutlermt, Feb 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wbutlermt

    Wbutlermt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    windows xp serv pack 3
    Atheros AR5B95 wireless internet adapter
    netgear router n 150 WnR 1000 v2

    ive tried basically everything and all the tech supports are trying to charge me an arm and two legs for support.. Can see the network but when i try to connect it says "Waiting on Network"

    Tried power down, different security settings, and other things but i cant seem to get thru.. please help


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : AnnComputer
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8132 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-22-84-C5-AE
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 17, 2011 5:58:56 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, February 18, 2011 5:58:56 PM

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B95 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0C-EE-E6-A4-8C-A7

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm HS-USB Ethernet Adaptor 9212
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A0-C6-00-00-00
     
  2. oksteve

    oksteve

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    938
    Silly question I know, but is your ethernet cable connected ? Is so, disconnect and try again.
    Did you power down the modem too ?
    You could delete the network and create a new one.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,956
    anything else working on the router

    that look like a good Ethernet connection, as you are getting an IP

    Is the cable connection working OK and we are trying to solve a wireless issue or is cable and wireless not working

    lets see the following ping tests

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.1.1
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,570
    Disable encryption and MAC Address filtering (or access control) on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.
     
  5. geek117

    geek117

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Are you using the Windows Wireless manager, or a third party one?
     
  6. Wbutlermt

    Wbutlermt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    ethernet cable connection is good just having wireless problem

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Anthony Leak>ping 192.168.1.1
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Anthony Leak>ping google.com
    Pinging google.com [66.102.7.99] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=54
    Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=54
    Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=54
    Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=54
    Ping statistics for 66.102.7.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 13ms, Maximum = 25ms, Average = 19ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Anthony Leak>ping 209.183.226.152
    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=87ms TTL=48
    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 79ms, Maximum = 87ms, Average = 83ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Anthony Leak>
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,956
    so can we see an xirrus screen shot and also the tests when you try and connect by wireless
    if cable is working fine then the results will show working fine
    disconnect cable and use wireless
     
  8. Wbutlermt

    Wbutlermt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    xxirus and framework didnt work.
    disabled security and access control..
    it started to connect but is now stuck in aquiring network address

    wat next?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,956
    can you connect with a cable and test if it will connect that way

    what error message did you get from xirrus and .net ?
    are you logged as administrator
    is this a personal PC or company PC

    can we see what services are started and running - see below

    would you do a tcp/ip and post the results


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Services}
    post back the status - started/stopped and automatic/manual
    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    Start > control panel > administrative tools > event Viewer

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Wbutlermt

    Wbutlermt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    framework error was something about the existing version..
    Computer Browser is stopped.. i tried to start it but it stopped again.. also i had to start Wlan auto config..
    Did the resets but still stuck on aquiring network...

    ok when i disable the security it connects but soon as i put it back on it disconnects... i dont want anyone jumpin on ths connection
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,956
    what type of security are you using ?
    WPA - WEP - WPA2 ?

    there maybe an issue there - if you reboot the PC does it now stay running
    If you have XP - then you should have WZC not WLAN Auto config - dont understand that answer - please explain further

    How many PCs do you have ?
     
  12. Wbutlermt

    Wbutlermt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Problem solved!!! it was the security... switched it to Wpa2-PSK AES
    Full connection
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,956
    excellent (y)

    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/981404