1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless/ internet connection issue with Compaq presario

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tezzaah, Oct 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tezzaah

    tezzaah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi

    I have been given an old(ish) Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC by a friend and whilst it appears to connect to my Belkin wireless router it cannot connect to the internet. My wireless network is located by the notebook but there is a red X between the "unidentified network" and the internet symbol.

    I have tried to connect before and after reformatting the notebook but to no avail. I have looked at a number of threads here and tried a few things suggested for other people with a similar issue but nothing works. I have restarted the router numerous times as well but still no luck.

    The PC I am using to post this is connected via the same router and is working fine so what am I doing wrong?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Also not sure how to network the notebook and this PC as well.

    Cheers T
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,508
    After "reformatting the notebook" did you install Windows? If so, did you install the chipset and networking drivers? And, if so, please show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. tezzaah

    tezzaah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi again,

    In the laptops paperwork there was a restore the system with out discs option (did make recovery discs as well just in case) which said to hit f11 at startup.


    I used the f11 at startup option to restore the system and it automatically reloaded windows vista. Did not install chipset or networking drivers, assumed that would already be there. Is that incorrect?

    Have pasted the results of the IPCONFIG /ALL below.

    Thanks for your help.

    Terry

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Tezz>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Tezz-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E2-BC-6B-24
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1041:35e1:3fe8:ca6c%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.7(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, 10 October 2012 4:43:27 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 16 November 2148 11:46:42 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-82-C8-41
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{13EDE1CD-DAB7-49AE-9778-E10B6A6D3
    DF6}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.Belkin
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Tezz>IPCONFIG /ALL
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,508
    Yes, when you reimage using the Recovery partition all (initial) drivers should be in place. It's still a good idea IMO to get any updated drivers from the PC manufacturer's web site in addition to the updates to Windows. However, your problem is likely a little more complex.

    The following was put together mostly by etaf with a little help from me.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Atheros Wireless Adapter - AR5007EG & AR5007
    Over the last couple of years we have been seeing a lot of problems with the above adapters, mainly concerning WPA and WPA2 encryption and mainly on windows Vista.
    We have seen just a couple of issues on other windows operating system, windows XP and windows 7.

    Windows XP:- A driver update has resolved the issue
    Windows 7 :- No conclusive results for a fix

    The wireless adapter gets an IP configuration, and shows as connected, but communication is non-existent or sporadic.

    Log into the Router and disable the wireless security and see if you are now able to connect to the internet and surf OK.
    Please post back a reply here, and let us know if that works or does not work.
    If you post back the make and exact model of the router - we can advise how to disable the wireless security

    Here are a number of possible solutions

    --- 1) In Device Manager right click on the wireless adapter and "update driver."

    --- 2) Download and install the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site support section,

    If you post a reply here with the Make and EXACT model of your PC, along with the windows version you are running. we will see if we can find a link to the driver and will post a reply with the link here.

    --- 3) On one occasion re-setting the router back to factory default and re-configuring the router settings has resolved the issue

    --- 4) The majority of members, have now used the drivers from the atheros driver site, which has resolved the issue.
    - see below for direct links for windows vista and the link for all Atheros adapters and supported operating systems


    AR5007
    Vista 32 / 64 Bit
    Direct link Drivers for Atheros AR5007 and Windows Vista 32 / 64 bit
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started


    AR5007EG
    Vista 32 / 64 Bit
    Direct link Drivers for Atheros AR5007EG and Windows Vista 32 / 64 bit
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started


    Drivers for the other windows operating system
    http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-drivers.php
    You need to look down the page for your particular adapter model and then look across the columns to find your windows version.
    Now click on the blue tick mark in the column under your windows version.
    This will open another page for that particular adapter and that windows version.

    Now click on the download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    Assuming that after all the above the wireless still does not connect to the internet, all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.

    Please post a reply here , and keep us informed of the situation and how you finally resolved the issue.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. tezzaah

    tezzaah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Wireless/ internet connection issue with Compaq presario

    Hello again,

    Info:

    Belkin Router:

    Model: Basic Wireless Router

    Model Number: F7D1301 v1


    PC:

    Acer
    Aspire Z5610
    Desktop Computer
    64 bit operating system

    Operating System

    Windows7 home premium
    service pack 1

    Not sure how to logon to the router

    FYI, looked in device manager on my PC and cannot see wireless adaptor, also not sure how to update drivcers without internet access on the laptop. Can I do that using my PC and removable hard drive?


    Thanks again,

    Terry
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,508
    Type the address (default is 192.168.2.1) in a browser's address bar - type the password (default is null). See more details in the user guide on the CD that came with the router or on Belkin's web site.

    Very strange, as it shows in the ipconfig /all. Never encountered this situation before.

    Download using a computer that has internet access and copy it over using removable media (CD, USB flash drive, external hard drive, etc.).
     
  7. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    Didn't see it mentioned earlier, but have you tried connecting the Compaq C700 using ethernet? Would make downloading drivers and uploading information easier.


    Also, do you know when/if the wireless card was replaced?
    Reason I ask is that my daughter has a C700 and all Compaq has listed for OEM wireless is Intel Pro/Wireless and Broadcom drivers.
    The Atheros 5007 was not an OEM option and had to have been installed after the computer was purchased and the drivers for it would not be in the Recovery Partition which is made when the OS is first installed.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1071970