Wireless internet keeps dropping

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

maestrosav

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
4
Hello,
I have a Packard Bell easynote ts and my internet connection drops after a varied length of time, trouble is I have to reboot my computer to get back online
I have Windows 7 and down at the bottom right corner On my notifications area it has 5 white bars when I am connected to internet, but when my internet starts to drop it first shows 5 grey bars with a yellow symbol and says wireless connections are available but I can't find Virgin Media, then it changes to 5 bars saying no wireless connections are available. I have an Ethernet cable but when I plug this in it remains with the crossed out symbol.
I have had Virgin Media engineers out to look and its definitely not their problem and it only drops on my laptop.
Any suggestions
Brian
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
this is the only PC that disconnects correct and you have others on wireless that continue to work

would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

please include the xirrus screen shots for both conditions - see how below.

Please post back here the make and exact model of the router and if you have a separate modem, the make and exact model of the modem.

Please make a note of the status of the lights on the modem and on the router when working normally - post that light status here.
Now when the internet disconnects make a note of the status of the lights for the modem and router here again. also note which have changed.

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

Type the following command
Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router.
The next two Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet. google is to test by name and the ping test using a number is checking that a connection exists without DNS.
these tests then confirm if there is a dns issue on the connection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

maestrosav

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
4
Thanks for replying
Ok I have the results of my internet whilst its connected I shall wait until it drops before I repeat the test and put them in the same email.
I have an atheros AR5B97 wireless network adapter, and a Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport adapter installed, My internet security is Microsoft Security Essentials and firewall is just Microsoft Firewall with advanced Security. I am using Malware bytes also.
My router is a Virgin Media Superhub router and has a model number VMDG480, there are 3 sidelights, one is 'traffic' which blinks blue rapidly, the second is 'ready' which is a steady green and the third is 'wireless' which blinks green rapidly.
Anyway rather typically my internet connection is working perfectly, so I cant provide you with the second test results.
Hope this answers your questions so far.
 

maestrosav

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
4
Thanks for replying
Ok I have the results of my internet whilst its connected I shall wait until it drops before I repeat the test and put them in the same email.
I have an atheros AR5B97 wireless network adapter, and a Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport adapter installed, My internet security is Microsoft Security Essentials and firewall is just Microsoft Firewall with advanced Security. I am using Malware bytes also.
My router is a Virgin Media Superhub router and has a model number VMDG480, there are 3 sidelights, one is 'traffic' which blinks blue rapidly, the second is 'ready' which is a steady green and the third is 'wireless' which blinks green rapidly.
Anyway rather typically my internet connection is working perfectly, so I cant provide you with the second test results.
Hope this answers your questions so far.
Here are my ip config / all test while my internet is connected

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Brian-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 8A-9F-FA-A3-1B-06
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B97 Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 88-9F-FA-A3-1B-06
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e5af:657d:6628:ba7c%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 07 January 2013 20:04:30
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 08 January 2013 20:04:34
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 243834874
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-E3-E2-6A-1C-75-08-D0-8F-4B
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{B78968B6-A8EA-47E4-9FF9-740ABA8C6D7F}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:3054:288d:aff8:6205(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3054:288d:aff8:6205%20(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{3154E6BB-0CB3-4EC7-B5A3-4E7162733F48}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{71F91C8D-D073-4303-BC2A-F48780E28E44}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
can you also post the three ping tests and xirrrus screen shot while working correct and then ALL tests when disconnected
 

foxidrive

Banned
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
793
Just offering this here to try if you want to, when it fails next time.

Save it on your desktop as RenewConnection.bat
and click on it, when you have lost your connection. It may help, or it may not, but it will not damage or change anything.

Code:
@echo off
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /release6
ipconfig /renew
ipconfig /renew6
pause
 

maestrosav

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
4
Just offering this here to try if you want to, when it fails next time.

Save it on your desktop as RenewConnection.bat
and click on it, when you have lost your connection. It may help, or it may not, but it will not damage or change anything.

Code:
@echo off
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /release6
ipconfig /renew
ipconfig /renew6
pause
Hi Foxidrive

Do I just type this in to CMD and hit enter (when connection is lost)
 

foxidrive

Banned
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
793
Hi Foxidrive

Do I just type this in to CMD and hit enter (when connection is lost)
You can type the commands (and on testing the two lines with 6 in it are not needed) but you can also save it as a batch file on your desk top and click it.

Save the code below to notepad and save it as "Renew Connection.bat"

Code:
@echo off
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
pause
When your connection fails click on the bat file and see if it helps.

It will open a cmd prompt and finish with 'press any key to continue'.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top