1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless internet not working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by -Fabez-, Jul 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. -Fabez-

    -Fabez- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,899
    I have recently bought a new router (Belkin N1 MIMO) and set it up fine, with all intrernet connections working properly. I have one client computer that connects wirelessly to the router no problem but i cannot acsess the internet from this client computer. Any ideas ?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,527
    You set the router to disallow internet access to that particular IP or MAC address?

    If the problem computer is running Windows please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. -Fabez-

    -Fabez- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,899
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : NathansComputer-home-d68kdf2qcn
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Cable & Wireless 802.11g Series Wireless LAN USB #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-2E-6C-04-7B
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    192.168.2.1
    192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 28 July 2008 21:07:13
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 11 August 2008 21:07:13

    There it is, thanks you for the quick reply. I ran netsh diag gui as well and everything passed so im a little confused. And the router does not currently block an ip or mac adresses.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,527
    The ipconfig /all looks good except that it is strange to see the DNS Servers include the router a 2nd time and that other address.

    Please try the following repair (I had to make a guess about your OS).

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  6. -Fabez-

    -Fabez- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,899
    Thank you for your help but that did not solve the problem. After rebooting my computer and running netsh diag gui again my network adapter was duplicated on the list of networking hardware on my computer. One of these duplicates passed while the other did not.This problem is becoming increasing annoying as i cannot see any problem with my connection. Any help would be much appreciated thanks in advance
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,527
    Please show another ipconfig /all and add these commands:

    ping 192.168.2.4 [or whatever your current IP address is]
    ping 192.168.2.1
    ping 206.190.60.37
    ping yahoo.com
     
  8. -Fabez-

    -Fabez- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,899
    C:\>ping 192.168.2.4

    Pinging 192.168.2.4 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.2.4: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.4: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.4: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.2.4: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.4:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=139ms TTL=52
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=137ms TTL=52
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=135ms TTL=52
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=135ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 135ms, Maximum = 139ms, Average = 136ms

    C:\>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\>
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,527
    You have internet access (ping 206.190.60.37 worked) but DNS is not working. Sometimes a specific adapter and router just don't play nice together for DNS, so try assigning OpenDNS servers to your PC: https://www.opendns.com/start
     
  10. -Fabez-

    -Fabez- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,899
    Thank you for your persistant help, but yet again it has not worked. I manualy assigned the dns servers to the connection but the client still will not connect to the internet. I ran netsh diag gui again, this time one of the duplicate adapters passed while its counterpart copy failed. It failed on dhcp server nd dns search order. I am stumped at this because thier are two enteries for my adapter with one saying it passed and one saying it failed. Your help is much appriciated as always
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,527
    Well, previously you did have internet access. Please show the last two pings and ipconfig /all again.
     
  12. -Fabez-

    -Fabez- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,899
    C:\>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=136ms TTL=52
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=134ms TTL=52
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=136ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 134ms, Maximum = 136ms, Average = 135ms

    C:\>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : NathansComputer-home-d68kdf2qcn
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Cable & Wireless 802.11g Series Wireless LAN USB #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0E-2E-6C-04-7B
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 29 July 2008 16:16:16
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 12 August 2008 16:16:16

    C:\>
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74,527
    Very perplexing! Somebody just got a very similar problem "solved." See the part about Services in my post #38 and the OP's solution in post #42 in this thread: http://forums.techguy.org/networking/730273-solved-i-really-need-help-3.html

    Any other ideas I might have about your problem are somewhere in that thread; I didn't hold anything back. So, if the above doesn't get you going, study that thread.

    And please don't think I'm pushing you away; I just can't think of anything else at this time.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/734733