1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Internet on a Laptop - Can't renew IP

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Jam_Jelly, Jul 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jam_Jelly

    Jam_Jelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Hi...

    Ive had a couple of these problems recently but have sorted themselves out without me fretting too much over them, but for the last few days I haven't been able to access the internet on my laptop. I am using a Belkin Wireless Notebook Adaptor and the strange thing is that it says that it is connected when it isn't (The 2 little computers are flasing :D).
    We are also using a Netgear DG834G Wireless Router. But when I go to 'repair' it says it can't renew the IP address.

    I'm not very good at understanding computer jargin so i'm afraid you will have to lay it out in simple lamens terms plz

    Thx in advance:DD

    EDIT: I have used 'search' on the forums for this problem but the solutions I found didn't work for me unless I did it wrong (probably the latter).
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you do the following, and post back all the results please - if you cant follow anything post back
    --------------------------------
    download and instal - if you can get online on a different PC and copy suing a CD or other media
    Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/

    --------------------------------
    start>
    control panel>
    system>
    hardware tab>
    device manager button>

    network adapters
    click on the + sign

    post backs whats there

    also any ! X or ?

    -------------------------------------
    post an ipconfig and do the ping test

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.


    NEXT lets see if you can get out onto the internet with both names and IP's - its possible the IP number you get back on the first test is different to the one I post {I'm in UK} so use the number you get instead of mine

    ------------------------------------------------
    try ping the name and then the IP see below

    start
    run
    cmd

    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping {the default gateway ipaddress you got above }


    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping google.com
    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping 64.233.187.99
     
  3. Jam_Jelly

    Jam_Jelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    i wont be able to do the stumbler thing but ill do the other stuff but i cant do it right now

    thx.
     
  4. Jam_Jelly

    Jam_Jelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Network Adaptors:

    Belkin Wireless 54Mbps Notebook Adaptor
    Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC

    There were no other things apart from those 2
     
  5. Jam_Jelly

    Jam_Jelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Also because im using a different computer from the one that has problems i cant copy and paste the ipconfig unless im missing something :)D) plz post back
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so can you plug it into the lan cable and see if we can get it working on the cable connection.

    can you post the info in ipconfig - i know its a drag to type it in, but it may help a lot

    heres mine so - you may be able to edit


    whats the make and model of LAptop
    IS the wireless switched on - lots of laptops have switches physically on the laptop or use F keys - make and model of laptop would help

    do you have the wireless set for encyption
    and do you have a cordless phone
     
  7. Jam_Jelly

    Jam_Jelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    kk i was just checking if there was an easier way

    ipconfig:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name..............: Mike
    Primary Dns Suffix....:
    Node Type...............:Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled....:No
    WINS Proxy Enabled..:No

    Ethernet Adaptor Local Area Connection

    Media State..............:Media Disconnected
    Description...............:Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address.......:00-C0-9F-55-29-3E

    Ethernet Adaptor Wireless Network Connection

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix..:
    Description................:Belkin Wireless 54Mbps Notebook Adaptor
    Dhcp Enabled............:Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled...:Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address..:169.254.205.119
    Subnet Mask..............:255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway.........:

    EDIT: Yes I have a cordless phone and yes encryption is enabled.
    EDITEDIT: Hp Windows XP Home Edition (if thats what you mean)
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    disable encryption
    see if you can connect then
    Can you answer these questions asked in last post
     
  9. Jam_Jelly

    Jam_Jelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    I tried disabling encryption but it didnt work...

    on the plus side though, I tried putting in a manual ip address and it worked!!! Thanks for your help.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    very strange - are you happy to stay with fixed IP?
     
  11. Jam_Jelly

    Jam_Jelly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    erm... why? is a fixed IP bad?
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no not bad - just wondered if you wanted to fault fnd further.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483141

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice