Wireless internet problems with Win 8

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mobz2005

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Messages
3
Hi guys,

I really need your help. Ive been loosing sleep over this - here it goes:

Router: DLink: DSL 2780 (router located in my room so no issues of weak signal)

Problem: When I connect my new HP Envy using its wireless network card: Wireless Centrino N 2230 - the connect to the router wirelessly is strong as the router is in the same room. However the internet connectivity is intermittent...the pages load slowly at times - at time the loading thing keep going around but the page does not load. However, the connection to the router is still excellent.

What i have tried:

a) connect through Ethernet works perfect - not problems
b) update router firmware and laptops wireless cards drivers.
c) Change wireless channels etc
d) tried another laptop/tablet: I have a netbook windows XP - the wireless is flawless - likewise I have an Ipad connection is perfect.

I don't know what else to do to be honest. Is it the wireless card, or is it some settings on my windows 8 laptop??


Please please help someone???


Thanks in advance

Mo
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,312
Well, obviously as you have already figured out, it is a problem with the computer and not anything else, such as the router. With it being windows 8 and it's pretty new released, I would say it has some affect. Not sure exactly. What I would do, which I don't think most people would recommend or do, but seeing as no one has a response and you need to get this fixed ASAP, is install Windows 7 along side windows 8. This way, if everything is perfect in windows 7, you know the problem is with windows 8 (even though I'm pretty sure that is already the problem). If it is still bad in windows 7, then you know it has something to do with the wireless card. Not an answer, but possibly a start, if you're up for a dual boot temporarily.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
this may be a firewall issue -
What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

Re-install the wireless driver - whats the exact model of the HP Envoy - lets see if we can get a driver for that adapter off the manufacturers website or we may use the intel site
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Sea...oductProduct=Intel®+Centrino®+Wireless-N+2230

Here it will do a scan and update
http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect/wireless

Although - recently seen issues with update a driver and you get the message @latest version, but found a re-install is required

It would be better to first use the HP site

I would not install windows 7 - if you want to try a different Operating System then there are quite a few linux based system which are free and will run from the CD with out changing the setup you have
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,312
Anti virus issues. Good thinking. I don't know why I didn't think of that. I have seen many issues with Norton, and especically Mcafee.
 

mobz2005

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Messages
3
cheers guys - I had norton installed as part of the new laptop - 60 day trial. It is a HP envy 1011a - I have downloaded the latest drivers using intel and the HP website. Driver are all up to date use the detect tool etc. then manually checked to see if correct version was installed.

I uninstalled norton but the same issue remain?? Is there anything i need to do after uninstalling norton - I had thereafter installed AVG but then uninstalled that. Win 8 comes standard with Microsoft windows defender - i current have that running now?

I have one thing left to check to ensure it is not a win 8 and my router setting issue - which is try my laptop on a different wireless network. Will take laptop to work to see how it performs there.

Also certain websites it works quite fast others not so - specially websites which stream movies or have SSL.

Thanks
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
I uninstalled norton but the same issue remain?? Is there anything i need to do after uninstalling norton - I had thereafter installed AVG but then uninstalled that. Win 8 comes standard with Microsoft windows defender - i current have that running now?
windows 8 defender is actually Microsoft security essentials and the windows 8 firewall is very good - so no real need for another security suite

yes you need to use the removal tools - I would do that for both norton and avg


--------------------------------------------------------------

Norton Removal Tool
I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

--------------------------------------------------------------

AVG Removal Tools
http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
 

mobz2005

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Messages
3
thanks etaf: what if I have used windows uninstall to remove both programs??

Ive used the removal tools regardless - lets see how things go?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
what if I have used windows uninstall to remove both programs??
you still need to remove the removal tools
had people here removed using windows years ago and then after an update it suddenly blocks
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top