1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless internet problems with Win 8

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mobz2005, Jan 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mobz2005

    mobz2005 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Hi guys,

    I really need your help. Ive been loosing sleep over this - here it goes:

    Router: DLink: DSL 2780 (router located in my room so no issues of weak signal)

    Problem: When I connect my new HP Envy using its wireless network card: Wireless Centrino N 2230 - the connect to the router wirelessly is strong as the router is in the same room. However the internet connectivity is intermittent...the pages load slowly at times - at time the loading thing keep going around but the page does not load. However, the connection to the router is still excellent.

    What i have tried:

    a) connect through Ethernet works perfect - not problems
    b) update router firmware and laptops wireless cards drivers.
    c) Change wireless channels etc
    d) tried another laptop/tablet: I have a netbook windows XP - the wireless is flawless - likewise I have an Ipad connection is perfect.

    I don't know what else to do to be honest. Is it the wireless card, or is it some settings on my windows 8 laptop??


    Please please help someone???


    Thanks in advance

    Mo
     
  2. reticentAJ

    reticentAJ

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,312
    First Name:
    AJ
    Well, obviously as you have already figured out, it is a problem with the computer and not anything else, such as the router. With it being windows 8 and it's pretty new released, I would say it has some affect. Not sure exactly. What I would do, which I don't think most people would recommend or do, but seeing as no one has a response and you need to get this fixed ASAP, is install Windows 7 along side windows 8. This way, if everything is perfect in windows 7, you know the problem is with windows 8 (even though I'm pretty sure that is already the problem). If it is still bad in windows 7, then you know it has something to do with the wireless card. Not an answer, but possibly a start, if you're up for a dual boot temporarily.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    this may be a firewall issue -
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    Re-install the wireless driver - whats the exact model of the HP Envoy - lets see if we can get a driver for that adapter off the manufacturers website or we may use the intel site
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Sea...oductProduct=Intel®+Centrino®+Wireless-N+2230

    Here it will do a scan and update
    http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect/wireless

    Although - recently seen issues with update a driver and you get the message @latest version, but found a re-install is required

    It would be better to first use the HP site

    I would not install windows 7 - if you want to try a different Operating System then there are quite a few linux based system which are free and will run from the CD with out changing the setup you have
     
  4. reticentAJ

    reticentAJ

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,312
    First Name:
    AJ
    Anti virus issues. Good thinking. I don't know why I didn't think of that. I have seen many issues with Norton, and especically Mcafee.
     
  5. mobz2005

    mobz2005 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    cheers guys - I had norton installed as part of the new laptop - 60 day trial. It is a HP envy 1011a - I have downloaded the latest drivers using intel and the HP website. Driver are all up to date use the detect tool etc. then manually checked to see if correct version was installed.

    I uninstalled norton but the same issue remain?? Is there anything i need to do after uninstalling norton - I had thereafter installed AVG but then uninstalled that. Win 8 comes standard with Microsoft windows defender - i current have that running now?

    I have one thing left to check to ensure it is not a win 8 and my router setting issue - which is try my laptop on a different wireless network. Will take laptop to work to see how it performs there.

    Also certain websites it works quite fast others not so - specially websites which stream movies or have SSL.

    Thanks
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    windows 8 defender is actually Microsoft security essentials and the windows 8 firewall is very good - so no real need for another security suite

    yes you need to use the removal tools - I would do that for both norton and avg


    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    AVG Removal Tools
    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
    http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
     
  7. mobz2005

    mobz2005 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    thanks etaf: what if I have used windows uninstall to remove both programs??

    Ive used the removal tools regardless - lets see how things go?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you still need to remove the removal tools
    had people here removed using windows years ago and then after an update it suddenly blocks
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086010

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice