1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wireless internet signal very slow/weak after changing IP

Discussion in 'Networking' started by wblati, Dec 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wblati

    wblati Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Hi, I used BT previously without any problems but now use Orange and now using the Internet downstairs is useless(weird flat configuration). The router is upstairs, next to TV(same location as the BT router). I dont know why the wireless Internet signal has become very weak. The only way I can use the Internet if I sit a few feet from the router. Even then, streaming videos on youtube still takes a while compared to BT. This affects all devices using wireless connection - even my Iphone is useless when used downstairs.

    Signal interferance/ hacking? Router? Wireless adapter is up to date.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. patcoghlan

    patcoghlan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Hi. My boss had this problem and if my memory serves me well, we installed additional repeaters(?) around his huge house to bolster the signal anywhere he goes. Have your wireless router checked.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so in the same room devices do not perform as well as on BT - correct ?

    Are you using the same telephone line via orange as on BT ?
    What download speed have you paid for ?

    lets see an xirrus screen shot and also a speedtest www.speedtest.net and a pingtest www.pingtest.net with a PC connect to the router by cable
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. wblati

    wblati Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    yes, all devices(laptop, iphone) - although internet woks upstaris, its still slower now than before.

    same line used with BT - only thing thats change is router, provided by Orange.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    and the speed and bandwidth

    have you tried

     
  6. wblati

    wblati Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    30
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats a very busy environment - Is you signal wilfredo ? you need to change the channel used try 3 or 4
    loginto the router to change the channel
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your signal is very strong, but you should do better with channel 1.
     
  9. wblati

    wblati Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    30
  10. wblati

    wblati Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    yes its wilfredo - will try and change the channel to either 3/4.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Or 1 as suggested by Terrynet
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what download speed are you paying orange for ?
     
  13. wblati

    wblati Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    30
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029323

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice