Wireless internet wont connect!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GLDCSR3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
12
Hey,

I'm a student at university and my accommodation providers upgraded my internet over the Christmas break, however, my laptop will not connect to it wirelessly.

Everyone else in my flat can connect to it, but it wont even show up in the network box in the bottom right hand corner of the screen. It will connect when i use a wire, but that's not a great deal of use if i want to use the internet when i'm more than a metre away from the router! :p

I've tried restarting both the internet and my laptop a few times but to no avail! Any help would be much appreciated!

Cheers, Will
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
607
Well if everyone else in your flat can connect wirelessly then this is obviously a problem with your machine and not the router itself, especially if you cannot even see the ssid.
1st thing to check is that your wireless is defiantely turned on. Can you connect to other wireless networks other than this one from your machine?
 

GLDCSR3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
12
Yeah, I can connect to other wireless networks, and it's definitely on but it's just this one wont show up for some reason!

Even when it's plugged in with the wire, it only says "currently connected to: network" and doesn't even give the name of what it's connected to like it normally would.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
607
Could you post an IPconfig when your hardwired to the router

start-->run-->type "cmd" (without quotes)--> hit enter--> type "ipconfig /all" (again no quotes)--> hit enter


please post the results here.
 

GLDCSR3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
12
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Starmer>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Starmer-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E2-D3-F8-69
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-99-03-F8
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c4b:7855:225:f40b%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.67(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 10 January 2011 15:30:09
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 11 January 2011 15:30:09
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201334376
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-FD-0A-E0-00-1E-68-99-03-F8

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.home
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{78F63AB8-E695-4EF5-BE05-BBECDA695
F73}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.lan
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Starmer>

This is what came up, is that what you wanted?
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
607
yup thats what i was looking for. before i suggest anything else, are you using specific software to try and connect your wireless or just using the windows (zero) default wireless configuration software?
 

GLDCSR3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
12
just the generic windows software, i think

i've not installed anything extra on top of it, so it's what came with the laptop.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
607
Looking like quite a strange problem you have here. I assume you don't have the details to log into the router just to check the settings?
no matter, if everyone else but you is managing to connect to it then there's something off, especially if you can use it to connect to other wireless connections without any problem.

may the accomodation providers, while upgrading make the wireless ID hidden?
ask one of your flatmates for the SSID (name) of the wireless connection he connects too. you need to be specific with spelling etc here though.

What version of windows are you using?
Depending on what OS your using will depend on how this is done, but you can manually try and connect to the wireless comming from the router.
From either your network or network and sharing centre, depending on OS.

I'll details exactly for you if you would like once you get back to me with what version of windows you are using.
 

GLDCSR3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
12
it turns out that two of my other housemates (that i hadn't spoken to before i posted this) are having problems too!

so it might be the router after all?

is it possible for me to accidentally hide a connection? that sounds like something i might do...

and i'm using Windows Vista by the way!

thanks for the effort so far!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,830
The question is whether the SSID is being broadcast by the router. Ask one of the people who can connect to it if they detect the network. Also, what encryption is being used?

Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. Identify your network if it appears in the list.
 

GLDCSR3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
12
Hi,

My housemate can detect the network and is able to connect with it easily, but i'm not sure what you mean by encryption?

I've attached the two images from Xirrus. The reason there's two is because there are a lot of routers showing, just not the one I want!

Edit: I just wanted to add that when I got back to my accommodation yesterday, the network did show itself for about five seconds before disappearing and not returning. Didn't know if this was of any relevance or not!
 

Attachments

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,830
Now you know why we ask for the Networks page of the Inspector instead of multiple pages of the Gadget. :)

There have been a lot of problems with that adapter over the past two months or so with most having to do with WPA(2) encryption, but not one like this that I remember.

If one of your housemates who is not having trouble would be so kind as to let you attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Inspector we may get some clue by contrasting that with your results.
 

GLDCSR3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
12
we've just had a quick chat, and it turns out the three laptops that wont connect (out of five) are the oldest ones. I've been reading that that might have something to do with it, it that possible?

Also, the leaflet we got with the router said something about a CD that would install a driver into the computer, but we were never given it, so could that also be why it doesn't work?

Edit: Sorry about that, i didn't realise what you meant! I'll try and get a screen shot of it asap.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,830
There are no drivers for a router (except those few with a USB LAN port).

While connecting by ethernet go into Device Manager - right click on the wireless adapter - and Update Driver. Let Windows search the internet for whatever it finds. If that happens to fix things, hooray! It probably won't, so then go to your laptop manufacturer's web site and download and install the latest wireless driver.

What's the brand and model and version of the router?
 

GLDCSR3

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
12
Yeah, neither driver solution did anything like you said! So it's not that then!

I think the router is a Thomson TG585 v8, that's what it says on the back of it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top