1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Internet

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TheFamilyGuy, Apr 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheFamilyGuy

TheFamilyGuy Thread Starter

I currently have Cogeco Cable for my internet service. Now I'm gonna get a Toshiba Satellite laptop and I want to know how I would go about getting a wireless connection for it. I have no experience at all with anything like this, so I need to know in detail. Can I still use Cogeco, or will I have to get another ISP that supports wireless internet? If I can still use Cogeco, how would I make it wireless? And so on.

2. Mr. PC Doc

Mr. PC Doc

Your ISP should allow it... if you are worried about getting into legal trouble, you can contact them and ask how many computers you are allowed to connect wirelessly.

I would buy a router (802.11 G is the newest and fastest) and hook it up to the modem. Then, I would by a few wireless reciever PCI cards, and put them in the computers you would like to connect. Be sure they are either 802.11g or 802.11b if you use an 802.11g router.

You will also want to buy a router with a built in firewall, enable WEP, MAC, and disable TCP/IP and enable NetBEUI.

Hope this helps, and if you need any other help, post back! :)

3. Whitestar

Whitestar

The easier way would be to get a pci wireless card for the computer that already connects to the internet and a wireless card that fits a laptop. Then set them up for a point to point connection so that the comp and tha laptop talk through the wireless cards and then enable internet connection sharing.