1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless IP Camera

Discussion in 'Networking' started by silverseed71, Dec 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. silverseed71

    silverseed71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    I got one for Christmas and got it set up wired but what am I doing wrong about the wireless? I have a Linksys Wireless G Broadband Router and I am lost!!!
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,695
    First Name:
    Chuck
    If it has a built in web server interface, you may need to log in with a wired connection to configure and turn on the wireless features.
     
  3. silverseed71

    silverseed71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    I logged in wired and it found my router and I tried to allow it with my Linksys but when I try to access it wireless, it times out.
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,695
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Are you saying that you used a direct wired connection between the computer and camera and it was able to wirelessly find your router?

    Are you saying that you were changing some settings on the router so that it would allow the camera to connect to it
    If not, you are going to need to explain exactly what you were doing.


    Does the camera get its IP address using DHCP from the router? If so are you sure you are using the correct IP address?

    It might help if you gave us the exact brand and model number of the camera and the model number of the router.
     
  5. silverseed71

    silverseed71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    I have it wired right now. It grabbed 192.168.1.101. When unplugging the network cable, it's gone. The camera model is Wansview NCB541W and my router is Linksys WRK54G.
     
  6. silverseed71

    silverseed71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    I used port 99 and I disabled WEP but it still didn't work.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    35,039
    First Name:
    James
    When you plugged in with ethernet, did you connect with a PC to the 192.168.1.101 web address?
     
  8. silverseed71

    silverseed71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Yes
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    35,039
    First Name:
    James
    Does it allow you to set any wireless parameters? What is the make/model?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082045

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice