Wireless IP Camera

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

silverseed71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
253
I got one for Christmas and got it set up wired but what am I doing wrong about the wireless? I have a Linksys Wireless G Broadband Router and I am lost!!!
 

cwwozniak

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,220
First Name
Chuck
If it has a built in web server interface, you may need to log in with a wired connection to configure and turn on the wireless features.
 

silverseed71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
253
I logged in wired and it found my router and I tried to allow it with my Linksys but when I try to access it wireless, it times out.
 

cwwozniak

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,220
First Name
Chuck
I logged in wired and it found my router
Are you saying that you used a direct wired connection between the computer and camera and it was able to wirelessly find your router?

I tried to allow it with my Linksys.
Are you saying that you were changing some settings on the router so that it would allow the camera to connect to it
If not, you are going to need to explain exactly what you were doing.


but when I try to access it wireless, it times out.
Does the camera get its IP address using DHCP from the router? If so are you sure you are using the correct IP address?

It might help if you gave us the exact brand and model number of the camera and the model number of the router.
 

silverseed71

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
253
I have it wired right now. It grabbed 192.168.1.101. When unplugging the network cable, it's gone. The camera model is Wansview NCB541W and my router is Linksys WRK54G.
 

Couriant

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
35,734
First Name
James
When you plugged in with ethernet, did you connect with a PC to the 192.168.1.101 web address?
 

Couriant

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
35,734
First Name
James
Does it allow you to set any wireless parameters? What is the make/model?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top