1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless is connected but the internet doesn't work

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Benji3421, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Benji3421

    Benji3421 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    My wireless is just not working. I have read the other threads and tried the different suggestions and it is still not working I need majore help :(. I did the IPConfig thing and this is what I got.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Dell>IPCONFIG
    Windows IP Configuration

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.md.comcast.net.
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 98.233.75.92
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::212:3fff:feee:15c9%4
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 98.233.72.1
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    Tunnel adapter 6to4 Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.md.comcast.net.
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:62e9:4b5c::62e9:4b5c
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.md.comcast.net.
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:98.233.75.92%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    C:\Documents and Settings\Dell>^A

    This is not what I had at first. I uninstalled my wireless then reinstalled to see if that will get my wireless to start and that didn't. My wireless was working then after I downloaded Windows XP it has stopped working. The other computers on the network is working at my job. Thanks
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,781
    First Name:
    Terry
    You "downloaded Windows XP"? Please explain.
     
  3. Benji3421

    Benji3421 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I downloaded the Windows XP Service Pack. It was one of those automatic updates that pop up.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,781
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try the following uninstall of ipv6 and the repairs and if you are still not working please show another ipconfig /all.

    Start - Run - ipv6 uninstall - OK

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. Benji3421

    Benji3421 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I did the uninstall bit, but I did not understand the other stuff on how to reset the winsock and the TCP/IP bit.
     
  6. tek guy

    tek guy

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    How to reset the winsock:
    - Go to start and then run:
    - Type netsh winsock reset catalog
    - And the press OK or enter
     
  7. tek guy

    tek guy

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    What is your wireless router and the wireless adapter's model?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,781
    First Name:
    Terry
    Open a Command Prompt, type the two (bolded) netsh commands and then Restart the PC.
     
  9. Benji3421

    Benji3421 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I am using Belkin, but I don't know the wireless network by job is on. I did it all and didn't work. I am doing the NETSH through Run now and I will try again at work. If it doesn't work I will let you know and put up the new ipconfig/all.
     
  10. Benji3421

    Benji3421 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Ok I did it all but it is still not working.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The IPCONFIG posted shows a wired connection directly to a modem with a public IP address.

    Let's get complete information about the environment.



    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/757119

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice