1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless is working, Wired is not connected

Discussion in 'Networking' started by FrostBite795, Nov 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FrostBite795

    FrostBite795 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    I'm using a D-Link DI-713p router to network two XP machines (wired) and two wireless laptops, one with XP and one with Windows 2000. Electricity went out for about 20 minutes, and when it returned, neither of the WIRED computers were properly connecting to the internet. One of them (XP Home) still sensed a network connection, while the other (XP Pro) claims "A network cable has been unplugged." Neither can connect to the internet or any networked files.

    Any support whatsoever would be appreciated-- I'm stumped.
     
  2. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    a power outage of 1 min-infinity doesn't matter.

    unplug/plug the modem and router and it may work.
     
  3. FrostBite795

    FrostBite795 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Tried, tried, tried. It's definitely not something that can be solved by unplugging anything and plugging it back in.

    The light on the router that indicates the computer is connected is blinking slowly-- it's usually on constantly. When I unplug the cable, the light goes out completely (like normal). After plugging it back in, though, it continues its slow blink (on for 2 seconds, off for 2 seconds). And clearly, its not a modem problem, because I'm posting from a wirelessly connected laptop on the network. The only problem is the failure to connect to the two plugged-in computers.
     
  4. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    have you called d-link?

    seems strange that the wireless side works.

    you might try a reset and see if it works or takes you back to default settings where you might have to go thru the router setup again.

    most of the present day wireless routers are configured for both wired/wireless and setting up one doesn't setup the other but are separate steps.
     
  5. WCSHGS

    WCSHGS

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Lets see, the systems you are having issues with are the wired desk tops correct?

    Note: Your laptops have batteries and because they do they act as a UPS and or a surge protector.

    You may have a problem with one of the wired ports on the router or one of the nic cards in one of the desktops...
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/292465

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice