1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by LetsGoBlues, Apr 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LetsGoBlues

LetsGoBlues Thread Starter

I am attempting to connect to an unsecured wireless network. I have Windows XP.

Please note that I have been using this connection for about 4 months and have not experienced any problems until now. I did not recently do anything different than what I normally do that might have caused a change. (At least that I know of). I have performed a system restore to a few weeks ago when I was not having this problem and it did not help.

My 'Dell Wireless WLAN Card Utility' shows the Linksys network that I want to connect to but I never use this utility connect because it has not worked for me in the past. I uncheck the 'Let this tool manage your wireless networks' box and instead use the Windows utility. (On the Wireless Networks tab I check the box marked 'Use Windows to configure my wireless network settings')

My problem is the Linksys network does not show up when the Windows utility searches for networks in range. I have only been able to connect to wireless connections in the past using the Windows utility so I now have no ability to connect.

Do you know why I cannot connect using the 'Dell Wireless WLAN card utility'?

Sometimes the dell utility it will tell me that I am connected but I cannot get a webpage to load and other times it will tell me the connection has limited or no connectivity.

When attempting to repair the the connection I get a message saying it cannot be repaired because windows cannot diable the wireless network adapter and I should make sure it is properly installed.

I have tried researching this to no avail.