1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless LAN in High voltage area

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Lacunas, Jan 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lacunas

    Lacunas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Hey everyone!

    I'm planing to install wireless lan in high voltage area and was wondering what problems to expect.
    How high voltage affects wireles?

    Thanks for your contribution :)
     
  2. jackdw

    jackdw

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    Whats a 'high voltage area'?
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Other than possible EMI, it shouldn't be an issue. I'd also like a definition of "high voltage area", are you under a high tension line? :D
     
  4. Lacunas

    Lacunas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Yes. I'm under high tension electricity line.
     
  5. jackdw

    jackdw

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    How far away are the cables? Are they the major trunk lines on metal pylons or the lower ones on wooden poles?

    And are you DIRECTLY underneath?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I doubt you'll see any issue. I have a neighbor about 1/4 mile away, the high tension lines pass about 50' to one side of their house. The WiFi works fine there.
     
  7. Lacunas

    Lacunas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I'm directly underneath the line. Cables are on the metal pylons. I'll be trying to install WiFi in electricity substation.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The lines I'm talking about are the 800,000 volt lines coming from a power station. Electrical power distribution doesn't really have much effect on 2.4ghz signals, I don't see this as an issue.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539600

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice