1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless N Connection Speed Issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jwr1971, Mar 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jwr1971

    jwr1971 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    I am not seeing anything higher than 54.0 mbps connection speeds with my N wireless set up. Any input or help would be greatly appreciated!!!

    My equipment/cable service is as follows:

    Cablevision Optonline with Boost (30 downstream/5 upstream/100 mbps wired LAN)

    Laptop specs:

    Gateway M6817 with Vista Home Premium/Intel® Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
    2 gb ram, 250 HD, Intel Centrino Duo Core 2, 1.5 ghz processor

    Router:

    Belkin Wireless N model #F5D8233-4

    Router settings: WPA2PSK/AES
    20/40mhz bandwidth
    b/g/n mode (laptop does not connect on N only mode)

    ***I also downloaded the most recent firmware/drivers for the network card and Belkin router***
     
  2. JKingsnorth

    JKingsnorth

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Wireless N is still a "DRAFT" which means its not fully complete and is not guarenteed to run at 300Mbps. Origanlly they planned N to go up to 600Mbps but that went down the drain quickly.

    Also Ive never heard of the company you use for internet but I have Comcast which is "supposed" to be the fastest but thats only cause at certain times your speed will be above DSL or any other internet. Ya that usually happens.... around 3am when no one else is using the internet. Its kind of like water. If everyone in your neighborhood took a shower at 8am everyday your water pressure would be horrible.

    When a company says their router produces 11, 54, 110, 300 Mbps that isn't your internet speed. That is the speed that data CAN be transferred between computers. DSL do upstreams UP TO 640Kbps and downstreams of UP TO 9Mbps. So if you have DSL and you think your internet speed is 54Mbps.... Wrong its no where close to it. This is generally regulated by the FCC. Like Phone Modems can not surpass 56k but yet companys like NetZero promise faster speeds but really your getting the same as with AOL or anything else that is dial up.

    I'm not saying Wireless N is crap but thats what it is supposed to do.

    If you don't believe me then double check all of your Routers settings make sure its not set just for Wireless A and/or G since they only run at 54.

    Check your laptops wireless settings for the same thing.

    Wireless N is expected to be fully complete in July 2009. In the eyes of a Networking Company they think they can make more money by releasing PRE-Versions of the concept but they do not offer what it promises due to the fact that it is and will be a DRAFT, PRE-N, or MIMO-BASED until mid 2009.


    Also if it wont connect on N only theres more than likely using A/G since N wont work alone. Its just connecting on what it can grab. Buy a Card for the laptop.





    There is a reason why I still have a Wireless G Router!!!
     
  3. JKingsnorth

    JKingsnorth

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7772/internetspeedlz0.jpg

    Also found that about your internet.

    Mbps is FASTER than Kbps




    Did alittle more research and shows that your Adapter is not compatible with your router

    Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN provides deployment flexibility and connectivity convenience by offering a quad mode (supporting 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N) product, which is capable of connecting to new "Connect with Intel® Centrino®" wireless N Access Points / Routers, but can also connect to any of the legacy Wi-Fi standards, 802.11a, b or g.


    This is actually the first time I've heard of the program but as far as I know only Buffalo Products are supported.


    Buy an adapter card!

    http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=372146

    Matches your router
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If the Intel card can't connect to other 802.11n products, it's junk! Of course, since I have personally seen that card in a laptop connect to a D-Link DIR-615 802.11n, that statement is misleading at best, and BS at worst.

    I had Comcast broadband here, and your comments about it are way off-target as well. I didn't have any issue with obtaining full speed no matter what the time of day was. Do you check any of your "facts" before you post them?
     
  5. JKingsnorth

    JKingsnorth

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Comcast does not always get you full speed. If you check your speed on like Toast.net or something it is constantly changing.



    I just ran it....

    1st Speed: 1630Kb

    2nd Speed: 1712Kb

    3rd Speed 1612Kb

    4th Speed 1810Kb

    Cleared all cookies and settings before and after each test..

    What does that tell you. Tells me that connection speeds are always changing.


    Just curious but what exactly do you think full speed is?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    That would depend on where you live and what tier you have contracted for. I just called a friend of mine that has Comcast, and his speed came up at 5560/740, his service is 6000/784. Seems pretty good to me, and this is the peak usage period that normally would suffer any hit if it were going to.
     
  7. JKingsnorth

    JKingsnorth

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Exactly. My point is not that comcast is great or sucks my point is no matter where you are and how much usage is going on in the area speeds constantly flex. Thats cable. This guy has DSL so that also goes with phone usage and everything.

    Im trying to say that nothing is perfect and speed is always changing and not always like 54Mbps like your wireless laptop says
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    The phone usage has nothing to do with DSL speed, they live in a different frequency spectrum on the line. DSL delays come in the Telco CO and beyond as a rule. Of course, lousy lines can also affect the DSL speed.

    My Verizon FiOS has been constant whenever I've tested the speeds. I have the 15mbit/2mbit service, and I see this within about 20kbits whenever I test it, day, night, morning, evening. whenever.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    As I understand it there are basically three types of 'n' equipment.

    Draft 1 n will generally give > 'g' bandwidth only if all devices on the network are brand and chipset matched. Assume that anything at least a year old is draft 1.

    Draft 2 n devices will generally work pretty well together, but no guarantee unless there is a brand and chipset match. Good luck trying to determine what devices are draft 2.

    Final n devices should all work together fine. Not yet available.
     
  10. JKingsnorth

    JKingsnorth

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    This is true there are 3 Different Draft Versions I believe the current one is 3.02
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
  12. jwr1971

    jwr1971 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Hello everyone,

    A little more information about the connection/downstream/upstream speeds I am seeing from my current ISP (Optimum Online from Cablevision in Long Island, NY).

    When I connect my Gateway laptop via Ethernet connection I am seeing 100 mbps connection, 31 mbps downstream/4.8 mbps upstream but when using wireless the numbers drop to 54 mbps connection, 22.5 mbps downstream/4.7 mbps upstream (using speedtest.net - represented in kbps and Cablevision's speed test - represented in mbps).

    According to Intel and Belkin's website, it states my router is compatible with the Intel N card.

    When I first bought the router I was seeing 150 mbps connection speeds when clicking on the the wireless properties but on 2/8/2008 via Windows update there was an Intel driver update which I downloaded and once I did that, connection averages between 48.0 mbps & 54 mbps.

    Do you think by bypassing the built in Intel card with a Belkin Wirless N card might help or would it be a waste of money?

    And many thanks for everyone's feedback on my issue
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    "... via Windows update there was an Intel driver update ..."

    Probably the problem. Windows update likely got the driver directly from Intel. Get integrated wireless adapter updates from your PC manufacturer because they, or the motherboard manufacturer, may have to change the "raw" driver to fit their system. If you check closely on the Intel web site you will see that warning (I'm so smart because I downloaded a driver directly from Intel and gave myself problems!).

    Since you didn't report having a problem before, you can simply go into Device Manager and backup to the previous adapter driver.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Updating my previous post with info from John's timeline link ...

    As I understand it there are basically three types of 'n' equipment.

    Draft 1 & 2 n will generally give > 'g' bandwidth only if all devices on the network are brand and chipset matched. Assume that anything before fall of 2007 is draft 1 or 2.

    Draft 3 n devices will generally work pretty well together, but no guarantee unless there is a brand and chipset match. Good luck trying to determine what devices are draft 3.

    Final n devices should all work together fine. Cross your fingers and hope they will be available mid 2009.
     
  14. jwr1971

    jwr1971 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Hello Terry,

    I am also convinced that my issues are related to the Intel driver update. I also recently noticed the Intel website stated that their drivers are generic and you should always use the equipment makers one instead (read this the other day after I started having issues).

    According to Gateway's website, there is an available driver listed for my model & serial # and was posted the same day that I downloaded the Intel generic one.

    I will update my laptop using this one and see what happens!

    Thanks for your help.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Should work. Let us know how it goes.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/690975