Wireless-N wifi repeater connection failure

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Youngstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
4
Hi,
After trawling various help sites and reading pages of forum answers I realise that this is a very common problem. Nevertheless everything I try just doesn't seem to work so I'm hoping somebody may have the answer for me.
I have recently purchased a Wireless-N repeater which is now up and running and connects with both Ipad, iPhone and other laptops with ease. The problem is that I can't connect using my own PC. I'm using Windows Vista and the connection to the repeater seems fine, it just can't connect to the Internet. Every time I try and open a web page I receive the following message.
Error 105 (net:ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED) Unable to resolve the servers DNS address.

I've tried various solution but to no avail. I'd be very grateful if anybody has any suggestions and can talk me through it as its driving me bonkers!!

Many thanks
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
can we see an ipconfig /all

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Youngstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
4
Many thanks for the quick reply etaf. Hope this helps


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : John-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-EA-65-57-D0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f90a:72c2:4380:ab3c%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.106(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234886890
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-81-23-1D-00-16-EA-65-57-D0
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.8
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-54-70-1E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.Home
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{0CDAC803-D713-4168-AC6D-EDB97ED14FAF}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 20:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

Youngstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
4
I've set up to automatically get IP & DNS. I've run the config command and it now states DHCP: Yes.
Still no joy I'm afraid
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
can we see an ipconfig /all from
and other laptops with ease
one of our members has seem some issues with this type of adapter - now I have not reviewed to see if the same issues - but it maybe worth updating the driver

whats the make and exact model of the PC - ? hp by any chance

What version of vista are you running - this is for 64BIT which is not common - so post back the vista version first
control panel>system - should tell you there

so do not update unless 64bit
Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Det... Vista 64*&DownloadType=Software Applications

This download is valid for the product(s) listed below

Intel® Centrino® Advanced-N + WiMAX 6250
Intel® Centrino® Advanced-N 6200
Intel® Centrino® Advanced-N 6205
Intel® Centrino® Advanced-N 6230
Intel® Centrino® Ultimate-N 6300
Intel® Centrino® Wireless-N + WiMAX 6150
Intel® Centrino® Wireless-N 1000
Intel® Centrino® Wireless-N 1030
Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
Intel® WiFi Link 1000
Intel® WiFi Link 5300 and Intel® WiFi Link 5100 products
Intel® WiMAX/WiFi Link 5350 and Intel® WiMAX/WiFi Link 5150 products
Intel® Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
 

Youngstar

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
4
Unfortunately unable to send the other config as I don't have my colleagues machine to hand. I've tried another laptop in the house though with no success.

My machine is an Acer Aspire 2930 with Windows Vista 32 Bit

Should i try updating the driver?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,758
Try (32-bit version, of course) the latest driver from the laptop manufacturer's site and the latest from Intel's site. One may make a positive difference.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top