1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless/NAS/TV

Discussion in 'Networking' started by EmLouBas, Dec 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. EmLouBas

    EmLouBas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi All,

    I'm not sure if this is the correct section of the forum that I should be writing in but I'll give it a shot.

    Today I've received a Seagate GoFlex Home NAS Box which I've transferred all my films, music, etc on to.

    Usually if I want to watch a film that is stored on my laptop, on my TV, I connect it via a HDMI cable.

    Is there anyway, or any device, that would allow my TV (Logik HDReady) to become wireless and watch the films directly from the NAS box? Even something to plug in to my DVD player for instance.

    I've seen my friends do this via an xbox but I'd rather not purchase on of these as I am not a gamer.

    Any information would be much appreciated.

    Kind Regards,
    Em
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    35,057
    First Name:
    James
    What is the model number of the TV?
     
  3. EmLouBas

    EmLouBas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    It's a Logik LOG32LW782

    I'm not sure whether it has the capability to or whether there are any DVD/Bluray Players out there that would allow me to do the same thing.
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    35,057
    First Name:
    James
    You are correct, the TV does not appear to have any networking functions. Most devices like a blu-ray player should have some type of media player. I would assume SONY would as my SONY GoogleTV does. If it doesn't there should be an app in the store that would.
     
  5. EmLouBas

    EmLouBas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    35,057
    First Name:
    James
    I believe the Ruko boxes do have a media player. In fact there was an article in a computer magazine in the US that has such application to allow you to use the Ruko player in such fashion. I would suggest contacting Roku directly to confirm. I do believe Ruko has a subscription like TiVo though.

    http://support.roku.com/entries/413244-contact-support
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082333

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice