1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wireless network - can't connect

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Godwulfe, May 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Godwulfe

    Godwulfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    I'm having a problem connecting to my work network.

    My office currently runs and unsecured, unencrypted wireless network (I know, I know, I'm not in charge.) I sometimes use my personal laptop (XP/sp2) but can't connect to this network. The wireless card can see the network and the signal is excellent, but when I click on 'connect' it attempts for a while, hangs, and then returns to the 'available network' list (no errors or pop-ups, it just stops looking) and shows the network as 'available' and 'unsecured.'

    Two days ago I installed a new hard-drive in my boss' Dell laptop, installed XP, and as soon as it booted it found the network and connected fine (no changing of settings at all.)

    So I'm confused - I have two laptops sitting 3 feet from each other, running the same OS's, and an unsecure, unencrypted network, and only one connect.

    Any ideas?
    Thanks
     
  2. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    {credit johnw}
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    And you can connect to other publicly available wireless networks, like at the library or hotel?

    It's possible that the person in charge is using MAC Address filtering on the router. Or maybe the Dhcp server is disabled. Ask him/her.
     
  4. Godwulfe

    Godwulfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Invalidusername: here you go -
    btw - this is at my house, not my office. Will this make a difference in what you're looking for?

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Anduril
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : ph.cox.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-25-20-53-DE

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ph.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-F0-15-25-39
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, May 18, 2007 8:15:03 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, May 25, 2007 8:15:03 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  5. Godwulfe

    Godwulfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    TerryNet:
    If there was MAC address filtering or the Dhcp sever was disabled wouldn't it have denied access to the laptop I had just reinstalled (my boss')? I didn't change any settings and it connected fine.
     
  6. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    If you have wireless in your house, this migh be the info form the wireless in your house
     
  7. Godwulfe

    Godwulfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    I do, so I suppose it is. That's why I asked.
    So, will 'ipconfig' still work (give you the right info) at my office if I can't get on the internet with that computer? I can copy and past the info from my laptop to my desktop and get it to you, but will it show anything useful?
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Yes, the output of an IPCONFIG /ALL is useful information.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your boss's laptop was connecting to the network before your work on it, right? So if MAC Address filtering is being used, that laptop's wireless adapter's MAC address was known to the router. And you did not change its MAC address. So my question about MAC address filtering is still in play.

    I think that you have eliminated the Dhcp server question. With the new XP install any static IP that could have been used before would have disappeared.

    If the ipconfig /all at the office shows an IP address of 169.254.x.y just tell us that. Posting the entire results wouldn't show anything that your post #4 hasn't told us. But if the IP is anything other, please post the results. Obviously I'm speaking out of turn here; invalidusername may well have a different idea about this!
     
  10. Godwulfe

    Godwulfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    TerryNet:
    Thanks. Couldn't get to my computer until today.

    "Autoconfiguration IP Address" is 169.254.X.X
    "Subnet Mask" is 255.255.X.X

    Anything else?
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sure sounding more and more like MAC Address filtering.
     
  12. Godwulfe

    Godwulfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    TerryNet, Invalidusedname:

    Thank you both so much for your help. After looking at your responses I believe you are correct about the MAC filtering (I didn't think anyone here knew enough to do that.) I'll check with whoever is maintaining our system.

    Your assistance has been invaluable, both in helping explain my problem, but also in educating me a little more (until now I assumed MAC address/IP addresses were software supplied, not hardware.)

    Thank you both
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/574924

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice