1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wireless network card in laptop always having to re-connect?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by FuzzyWuzzy, Sep 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FuzzyWuzzy

    FuzzyWuzzy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    753
    why? I get a popup every now and then saying its been reconnected. I have a toshiba centrino. I heard there are problems with centrinos and wireless routers?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you supply more info on make/models etc.
    heres a free program which will monitor the wireless signal
    Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/

    do you have a portable phone or microwave nearby - they can interfer.
    also someone elses wireless may be interfering - so you can see whats about with the above program and change channels.

    i also had problems with dns servers until I hard coded the IP's however, this affected both wireless and hardwired everything dropped
     
  3. FuzzyWuzzy

    FuzzyWuzzy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    753
    my laptop specs are below and im using a US robotics router. Not sure the exact model, justr basic router with 4 ports on the back.

    no phones or microwaves nearby no.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    does the connection drop if hardwired - or only via wireless?

    have you monitored signal - and seen what others are around.
     
  5. FuzzyWuzzy

    FuzzyWuzzy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    753
    hardwired? from what i notice the signal always says excellent. the mbps always varies as high as 54.0 and low as 11.0. it says the signal strength is at full.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    connect a cable from router to pc = hardwired
     
  7. FuzzyWuzzy

    FuzzyWuzzy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    753
    ok well its a laptop so no cable. i have a cable from the cable modem to the router and thats about it.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    fuzzywuzzy - are we working on two things here? :) :) :p
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/275634

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice