Wireless network connection doesn't have a valid IP configuration

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DaveT77

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
5
I have a laptop that use to connect to the internet fine, now it connects to the network, but won't connect to the internet. I have tried:
ipconfig /all

ipconfig /release

ipconfig /renew

Here are the results of the config/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Amanda-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 94-39-E5-75-A7-35
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6151:c9a:2c54:971a%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.11(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 03, 2013 8:07:49 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 03, 2013 9:07:50 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 311704037
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-73-AD-4D-B8-70-F4-E4-D1-E6

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.217.0.5
24.217.201.67
24.247.15.53
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-70-F4-E4-D1-E6
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{270B3005-0207-4B07-8129-11F3561F7E44}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{4E46B4CF-9DFB-4EF4-AD55-F82CC10A3BE7}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:46f:28d5:3f57:fff4(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::46f:28d5:3f57:fff4%13(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


I ran the Xirrus tool and the signal was -41.

I did a partial restore of the system files and after that the connection worked fine. Then after doing all the updates and reinstalling a couple of programs it stopped working again. So I am guessing it is a software issue, but not sure what it is.

Thanks
Dave
 

DaveT77

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
5
I uninstalled ITunes and all the other Apple programs that go with it and now my connection is working. How do I install ITunes again without it messing up my connection?

Thanks
Dave
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,777
iTunes shouldn't be causing the problem. Try it again but decline any optional stuff.
 

DaveT77

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
5
I am wrong. I did uninstall all the itunes stuff, but I forgot that I also reset my modem while the computer was turned off. That seems to be what fixed it and not ITunes. I reset the modem this morning and it is working fine. I have tried to restart it over and over to get an error, but it is still working fine.

Is there a maximum number of devices that can connect to the modem at one time? I have quite a few when you include phones, tablets, etc. Could this be the problem?

Thanks
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,777
What is the brand and model of the modem?

What is the brand and model of the router? Are any other devices connected to the router? If so, do they have internet access when Amanda-PC does not?

What is "the same error message"?

Can you get internet access with an ethernet connection when the wireless connection cannot?
 

DaveT77

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
5
It is a Netgear Gateway CGD24G.

Nothing else is having any problems connecting. In the past I have had trouble with Kindles not connecting. I had forgotten about that. It seemed like if I disconnected a couple of things then the Kindles would connect.

At any given time there is up to 12 devices connected wirelessly to it. Right now there are less than that and it is connected with no problems since I reset the modem this morning. Several of the devices that normally connect with it are not here right now, ie phones, ipod touches, etc. So I can not test that.

The error message was the one saying that there is no valid IP address.

I am going to download ITunes again and see if it still works after that, even though I agree that probably isn't the trouble.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,777
The Netgear CGD24G is a cable modem/wireless router combination unit.

Make sure you have the latest firmware for it; then reset to factory default settings and reconfigure (make sure you know the important settings before resetting).

Does the problem occur with an ethernet connection or only with Wi-Fi?
 

DaveT77

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
5
Everything is running fine still. I don't know what else there really is to do until it stops working. I have tried turning the laptop off and on and few times and the connection is still working. I guess for now it is fixed?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top