1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Network Failing.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Copperwire, Jun 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Copperwire

    Copperwire Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi!

    This is a long story, fair warning. I'll try to include all the measures taken to fix the problem. I'll be available to answer any questions you may have for some hours now at least.

    Summary
    The problem in it's essence is that my wireless connection provides an error that "Default Gateway is unavailable". Windows then resets the wireless adapter resets. The problem then resumes (as I've experienced when either of the following criteria is met)
    -A fair amount of time with next to no activity (-1hr)
    -A large demand of bandwidth (read multiple youtube tabs, spotify and skype) less than 20sec.

    This leads me to belive that the use of bandwidth is related, somehow.

    Also the problem only affects the wireless adapter and no other PC's or smartphones in the household.

    The router is a Airlink 1000g
    The computer an Asus X53SM

    Measures taken
    Router:
    Cloned Mac adress
    Set DNS server to the one provided by my ISP
    Channel changed to 6 (tried several others)

    CMD:
    Ipconfig
    /fushdns
    /renew
    Also checked to see if IP, Standard gateway and subnet masks had normal adresses.

    Windows:
    Reinstalled Driver for the network adapter
    -installed old driver
    -installed newer than supplied from Asus
    Reinstalled bluetooth drivers.
    Checked to see if network adapter could be turned off by windows

    Specs:
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM CPU @ 2.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 8
    Network adapter: Atheros AR9002WB-1NG
    RAM: 8102 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 630M, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 216275 MB, Free - 113753 MB; D: Total - 260561 MB, Free - 142998 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer Inc., K53SM
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012, Disabled

    If you can help, then please do. After 24 hours of this problem I'm getting a bit fed up.

    In advance, thank you!
    Some more data included in this thread
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,600
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from Asus's web site.

    Are the symptoms the same regardless of whether you are running on battery or AC?
     
  3. Copperwire

    Copperwire Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I've installed the newest drivers from Asus

    The problem persists regardles of power supply and battery levels.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,600
    If the power saving settings for the wireless adapter are not "Maximum Performance" try that setting to see if it makes a difference.

    What security applications (firewall, security suite, anti-virus, etc.) are on the system?

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. Copperwire

    Copperwire Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Changing the battery settings seems to have no impact on the issue.

    I'm using the Windows Firewall and AVG.

    The CMD commands seem to have no impact on the issue.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,600
    In case AVG is corrupted uninstall it and run the AVG Remover. You may then reinstall AVG. I have no more ideas on this.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058700