1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless network, ICS, XP & Dial-Up Problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by unknownguy18, Feb 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. unknownguy18

    unknownguy18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    I have a wireless network set up at home. Unfortunately, I'm still using dial-up. When you configure ICS on XP using the wizard, it makes itself a host computer, therefore a DHCP server and also configures itself to have an IP address of 192.168.0.1.

    This conflicts with my D-Link DI-514 router because it is by default 192.168.0.1 and also a DHCP server. I changed its IP address to a static address of 192.168.0.2.

    Now when I connect to the wireless network with my laptop, I cannot access the internet because on my laptop's default gateway is 192.168.0.2. My router sees itself as the default gateway and broadcasts that on the wireless network. How do I direct my router to see 192.168.0.1 as the Internet host? I am not using the WAN port on the router because that is made to be connected to a cable or DSL modem.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. coulterp

    coulterp

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,625
    Disable DHCP server on the router.
    Use the LAN ports (only) of the router. i.e. neglect to use the WAN port.
    This set up should be OK for ICS for operate.
     
  3. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,234
    Did you turn off DHCP on your Router? It could be your laptop is getting the ip from the router and not the ICS machine therefor not getting the right Gateway.

    Another way around it would be to hardcode your laptop IP.
     
  4. unknownguy18

    unknownguy18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks for the advice. I'll try it. It is true that my laptop gets its IP address and such from the router and therefore gets incorrect information.

    If I turn off DHCP in my router will the host computer assign IP addresses even across the wireless network? Can it assign an IP address to my router or does it need to?

    I have hard coded the ip on my laptop and it works but I'm trying to work this out to use in real world situations where DHCP is necessary because of ignorant clients.
     
  5. unknownguy18

    unknownguy18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Consider it solved. I disabled DHCP and now my Win XP computer is acting as a DHCP server and everything is working flawlessly. Thanks for your help.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/326735

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice