1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Network Setup Wizard not available

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Fezza 8800, Nov 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Fezza 8800

    Fezza 8800 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Hi all, been a while since I've been on here.

    Anyway, I just formatted my PC, successfully installed a clean edition of XP Pro and made 2 partitions. I then installed my motherboard drivers which included the LAN driver too, and that was installed. I used a wireless network so I installed my wireless network adapter's driver, restarted, and the hardware isn't recognized (I went to control panel > system > device manager > collapsed the Network Adapters tab > and only the LAN connection was listed.) Furthermore in Control Panel there's no setup wireless network wizard to get connected to the internet, this is my main question, how do I access 'Wireless Network Setup Wizard' ?

    If you need more details just ask I'll post them up.
    Thanks for your time doods. (y)
     
  2. Lucky5tar

    Lucky5tar

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    You will need SP2 for the Windows wireless network manager.

    It sounds like you failed to install the drivers properly anyway, so update Windows fully then try to install the drivers again. Get the latest wireless drivers from the manufacturers site on another PC
     
  3. Fezza 8800

    Fezza 8800 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    How can I update Windows when I'm not connected to the internet?
    I also tried the latest drivers for the network adapter.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,550
    The same way that you can post here when not connected to the internet. :)

    Use a computer with internet access to download the latest chipset and networking drivers from the PC manufacturer's web site. If your wireless adapter is not integrated, also get its latest driver from its manufacturer. Copy the drivers to the crippled PC using removable media such as CD or USB flash drive. Install the chipset first.
     
  5. Fezza 8800

    Fezza 8800 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks for the help anyway guys, I found out that once I formatted & installed the new copy of Windows XP, it installed Service Pack 1. I then DL'ed & installed service pack 2, and the option is available. Although I can't connect to my existing wireless network cause I can't find the the client or whatever it's called that finds a list of wireless networks for you and allows you to connect to one. There's no mini-icon of the wireless icon in the Task tray.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.



    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.

    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
     
  7. Fezza 8800

    Fezza 8800 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Nevermind kids, I got it working myself.

    I tried downloading a driver version for my card which is acutally meant to be installed on SP3 machines. I tried it and it worked, it even has a utility that allows you to connect to your network... I got it working right now, and under Network Adapters I can see the card:

    [​IMG]

    Thanks guys for your help, this forum has very helpful members !
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  9. Fezza 8800

    Fezza 8800 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    I've learned from a past mistake where I marked a thread solved as soon as I figured out the solution, but the solution didn't work.

    I'll wait a few more days until I know the internet's working completely...
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/773801