Wireless Network will not connect

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

unusedcomptrdgre

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
73
I have a Belkin Wireless G Router. One computer is wired and working fine. My other computer has Belkin Wireless G Network Card and will not connect. It states that I have a low signal. Has anyone tried the desktop antenna by Belkin? Or could it be another problem?
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,294
First Name
Terry
I haven't tried the antenna. Yes, there could be another problem and even if the problem is a low signal it may matter why it is low.

"It states that I have a low signal."

That's one opinion. :) Do you have independent verification that the signal is low? Or do you use the adapter with other networks and trust its judgment?

If the signal is low do you know why--distance, obstructions, bad router, ...?
 

unusedcomptrdgre

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
73
I have no verification of low signal other than clicking the icon and it saying that. Is there another way to verify that? The speed is never more that 11Mbps. I did finally get it to connect but it the connection did not last long maybe a couple of hours. I only have one network that I'm using the adapter for. As far as distance I have had it right beside the router and it didn't work but as of right now the router is upstairs and the computer is downstairs right below the router room. I have just tried to change the channel on the router from 11 to 6 the speed is still the same but it did connect and the signal varies now from very good, good and low. What should I try next?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Try channel 1. From the varied responses to changing the channel, I'd say you probably have interference.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,294
First Name
Terry
What's the model of your Belkin router and of your Belkin wireless adapter?
 

unusedcomptrdgre

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
73
I put the router on auto and the results were basically the same.


Router - F5D7230-4 ver.6000 and I have the updated firmware


Adapter - F5D7000 ver.3001 with updated firmware
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Download NetStumbler and do a scan of available networks. Post a screen shot here.

Here's a sample of what I'm looking for, mine shows one wireless network active. Make sure we can see all the columns.
 

Attachments

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,294
First Name
Terry
Are you using Belkin's utility or Windows' WZC to manage the wireless connection and are you sure that the other one is not running?

I think the direction John is taking you has a greater probability of payoff, but it doesn't hurt to look at this angle also.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top