1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless Network With 2 Routers & NAS

Discussion in 'Networking' started by newtek777, Aug 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. newtek777

newtek777 Thread Starter

Ok, so I am in a rough spot and could really use some help. I was so happy to find this kind of service available to the community. Thank you to everyone involved for making this service available. I’m not accustomed to typing out these kinds of issues, so please bear with me.

I am fairly good with computers and in need of more income. I decided to start doing some contracting work on my own, and this is my first networking gig. I have a lot of experience with computers, but almost zero business networking experience. I have setup routers, modems and wifi at multiple residential locations. So, I thought it wouldn’t be a problem taking on an upgrade/networking project for a small auto repair business. Turns out, I couldn’t get things working and am at a loss as to how to resolve the situation. I’m not sure if it’s a router hardware compatibility, setup or settings issue or all the above. I'm feeling a little defeated, and could really use some guidance.

Current Scenario: They have Time Warner Business Class internet service. I’m assuming this is DSL. There is a front desk computer, an office computer with a wireless router, and then multiple laptops throughout the location that share internet access on an already installed/setup wifi network. In the garage area, a fairly large distance from the front desk and office, is where the Time Warner modem and another wireless router are installed and mounted.