1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wireless networking between 2 wireless routers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Uofmfball52, Mar 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Uofmfball52

Uofmfball52 Thread Starter

Hi, i am a complete networking/computer newbie so as a warning to everyone who would potentially answer this question try to keep the response in the simplest terms possible for me, thanks.

I have a desktop, and a laptop, i have a wireless network setup for my laptop through my belkin wireless g 802.11g router.I have yahoo dsl wired directly to my computer that is wired to the belkin router which we will call computer A.

I received a used desktop computer that i am setting up in a different area of the house, which came with a netgear WGR 614 wireless router. This computer (computer B) is too far away to hardwire to the other computer, so i attempted to set up a wireless network between the 2 routers, because otherwise computer B would have no other way to connect to the internet.

I put the installation disk in computer B for the netgear router, and selected the option to connect it using existing router (not using netgear's router as the main router) and it told me to use advanced setup, which resulted in no help whatsoever.

So what i'm asking is there any way that i can connect these two computers through the existing network using the wireless routers in place. (connect the netgear on computer B wirelessly to my belkin on computer A)

THANKS

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry